Gaelic Games

Patrick McBrearty a surprise omission from 2018 Ulster All-Stars

Tom Comack


Tom Comack


Patrick McBrearty a surprise omission from 2018 Ulster All-Stars

Patrick McBrearty top scorer in Ulster championship

Patrick McBrearty top scorer in the Ulster championship is a surprise omission from the 2018 Ulster All-Stars announced last night, in Armagh.

The corner forward  who was having a great season had scored 0-18 in three in a half games and was top scorer in the Ulster championship before a cruciate brought a premature end to his season.

The Kilcar man limped out of the Ulster final in the early minutes of the second half. But despite his early departure McBrearty,who was being mentioned as well on his way to a national All-Star award still held on to the top scorer for the championship.

He pipped his captain and team mate Michael Murphy by a point for the top scorer in the championship.

Eoghan Bán Gallaghers is Donegal’s newest Irish News Ulster All-Star.The young Killybegs clubman had an outstanding year in the Donegal defence on the county’s march to a ninth Ulster title.

He is one of three Donegal men in the team which is dominated by Monaghan and Tyrone. Monaghan have six and Tyrone have five and Fermanagh one completes a selection without Donegal’s Patrick McBrearty, the top scorer in the 2018 Ulster championship.

Conor McManus from Monaghan and Conor McAliskey from Tyrone claimed the two corner forwards positions either side of Fermanagh's Sean Quigley who was named at fullforward.

Conor McManus played two games and Conor McAliskey one, in the Ulster Championship.

McAliskey and Tyrone who lost to Monaghan, in the first round of Ulster regrouped through the Qualifiers to reach the All-Ireland final. And McManus and Monaghan had only two games in the province before going through the Qualifier route all the way to the All-Ireland semi-final.

It would appear given McBrearty’s omission the 2018 Ulster All-Star were by and large picked on their Qualifier and Super 8 performances rather than in the Ulster championship.

Otherwise, it was a good night for Donegal as well as Eoghan Bán Gallagher Michael Murphy

It was a sixth for Michael Murphy while Ryan McHugh picked up a fourth award.

The Donegal hurling team and winners of the Nicky Rackard Championship won the hurling excellence award and the Donegal Ladies winners and Ulster Senior Champions were named the Ladies team of the year.

The 2018 Ulster All- Star team; Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Drew Wylie(Monaghan), Ryan Wylie (Monaghan), Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone), Karl O’Connell (Monaghan), Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone); Michael Murphy (Donegal), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone); Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Niall Sludden (Tyrone), Ryan McAnespie(Monaghan);Conor McManus (Monaghan),Sean Quigley (Fermanagh Conor McAliskey (Tyrone).