Gaeil Fhánada too strong for Na Dunaibh in Donegal Junior Gaeltacht final

Tom Comack


Tom Comack

Gaeil Fhánada too strong for Na Dunaibh in Donegal Junior Gaeltacht final

Fergus Friel gets the Donegal Junior Gaeltacht cup from Josie Doohan

Gaeil Fhánada are Donegal Comórtas Peile champions once again and looking forward to a crack at a second All-Ireland title following this afternoon’s final win over Na Dunaibh.

Gaeil Fhánada . . . . . . .  0-13

Na Dunaibh . . . . . . . . . 0-6  

The champions  played with the breeze in the first half and led by two points  at half-time, 0-6 to 0-4.

And despite facing a stiff breeze Aidan McAteer’s men pulled away in the second period with  Alan McAteer, Eoghan Carr and Bernard McGettigan all finding the target.

Former county minor Eoghan Carr was in fine scoring form for the winners. He ended the game with a personal tally of 0-7, four of them from placed balls.

Bernard McGettigan hit the game’s first score on two minutes and two close in frees from Eoghan Carr saw Gaeil Fhanada go three clear after ten minutes.

But Downings were back in the tie thanks to two Aaron McClafferty points. The first was a real good individual score from the number 14 who shrugged off his marker to loft over from 35 metres.

And with Gaeil Fhánada failing to turn possession into scores McClafferty made it a one point game on 23 minutes when he converted from close range.

But the boys in blue upped their game and with big Michael Sweeney opening the shoulders, Oisin Shiels, Conor McGonigle and Fergal Friel knocking over points, Gaeil Fhánada were four up, 0-6 to 0-2, with the clock ticking on the half hour.

But Downings finished strong and McClafferty (from play and a placed ball) reduced the margin again. Gaeil Fhánada went in two in front 0-6 to 0-4 at the interval.  

While Downings through Aaron McClafferty opened the second half scoring Gaeil Fhánada stepped up and Eoghan Carr hit three points and Bernard McGettigan one .

GAEIL FHANADA:  Brendan Friel; Fergus Friel (0-1), James Gallagher, Frank Sweeney; Matthew Gallagher, Jimmy Coyle, Conor McGonigle (0-1); Michael Sweeney, Oisin Shiels(0-1); Bernard McGettigan (0-2), Mark Friel, Johnny Friel; Alan McAteer (0-1), Eoghan Carr (0-7,4f), Paddy Heraghty.

Subs: Seimi ‘Cosha’ Friel for A McAteer 51; Mark McAteer for J Friel, Ephrim McFadden for C McGonagle 54; Ronan McAteer for M Friel 57.  


NA DUNAIBH: John McGroddy; Max Davis, Conor Sheils, Kevin Doherty; Shane McTeague, Bryan McGinley, Eamonn Kelly; Shaun McBride, James Lee McBride; Keelan McGroddy, Lorcan Connor, Shane Boyce; Allen Pasoma, Aaron McClafferty (0-6.5,f), Oisin Boyce.

Subs: Gary Bán McClafferty for Sean McBride 33; Finian McClafferty for L Connor 37;Ben McBride for S Boyce 42; Eric Roberts for B McBride 44; Oisin McBride for B McGinley 53 black card