Sam Todd strikes again to give Finn Harps a dramatic win in Longford

On-loan defender is the match-winner yet again






Sam Todd strikes again to give Finn Harps a dramatic win in Longford

The Finn Harps match-winner, Sam Todd. Photo: Stephen Doherty

For the second weekend in-a-row, Sam Todd was the match-winner as Finn Harps claimed victory on Saturday night in Longford.

Longford Town . . . 1

Finn Harps . . . 2

The on-loan centre half pounced for the winner in the 90th minute, pouncing on a dreadful mistake from Mick Kelly, the Longford keeper, who dropped the ball, allowing Todd to turn the ball home.

It was a real smash and grab victory for Ollie Horgan’s men who had to withstand some heavy Longford pressure in the second half.

But Harps held out and the game looked to be heading for stalemate until Todd, who had scored in the previous two games at UCD and against Cabinteely last weekend, stunned the home supporters with a last gasp strike.

It means it’s two wins in two for the Donegal club who up to fifth, and ahead of Longford Town, in the table.

They’d got off to a great start in this game - Mark Coyle scoring after only six minutes after he was set up by BJ Banda.

Town responded by creating some good chances of their own. Darren Meenan saw his effort saved by Ciaran Gallagher and from the resultant corner, Daniel O’Reilly headed over.

Gallagher was eventually beaten just before half-time when Dylan McGlade’s long range effort found the net.

Longford enjoyed plenty of possession after the break and Tristan Noack-Hofmann saw his header cleared off the line before Gallagher saved from Sam Verdon.

Longford substitute Dean Byrne went close again, this time shooting just wide only minutes after coming off the bench.

But for all their pressure and chances, Longford were unable to find a way past Gallagher for a second and instead it was the visitors who found a winner when Todd was perfectly placed to take advantage of a goalkeeping error to steer the ball home.

Longford Town: Mick Kelly, Daniel O’Reilly, Tristan Noack-Hofmann, Chris Mulhall, Sam Verdon, Michael McDonnell, Aodh Dervin, Jamie Hollywood, Karl Chambers, Darren Meenan, Dylan McGlade.

Finn Harps: Ciaran Gallagher, Aidan Friel, Ciaran Coll, Keith Cowan, Sam Todd, Tommy McBride, Mark Coyle, Paddy McCourt, BJ Banda, Michael O’Connor, Mark Timlin.