MacCumhaill's lose out against resurgent Four Masters

First defeat of the season for Twin Towns men





MacCumhaills v Four Masters

Patrick Reid and Four Masters enjoyed a good win at MacCumhaill Park on Sunday.

Sean Mac Cumhaills suffered their first defeat of the season with Four Masters the visitors on Sunday afternoon.

Sean MacCumhaill’s . . .  0-8

Four Masters . . . 2-8

MacCumhaills were chasing their fifth win in as many games while Four Masters had come into this game on the back of one win and three defeats.

Goals in either half from the resurgent Masters were the main difference between the sides.

The industrious Jason Duignan got on the end of a Sean Meehan goalbound shot to finish to the net to push the visitors to a 1-3 to 0-5 interval lead.

Kevin McBrearty was also on target for the lively visitors along with Jamie Crawford and Leo McHugh while the home side replied via Gary Wilson, Nathan Gavigan and Stephen Mulligan.

And it was another deadly strike on the resumption from Masters as conditions deteriorated that effectively decided the outcome of this hard fought affair.

This time it was Leo McHugh of the Masters who palmed the ball to the net a minute into the action to give the Masters a four- point cushion.

MacCumhaill’s had chances from frees and Stephen Mulligan was on target but the busy Duignan replied for the Masters.

Oisin Gallen was on target but ex-county panellist Kevin McBrearty hit two valuable points for the visitors to seal two much needed points.

Seán Mac Cumhaills: Chris Patton, Adam Lynch. Chris Gallagher, Conor Griffin, Luke Gavigan, Gary Dunnion, Ronan McMenamin, Nathan Gavigan (0-1), Gavin Gallagher, Gary Wilson (0-3), Steven O’Reilly, Oisin Gallen (0-2 2f), Stephen Mulligan (0-2 1f), Chad Mc Sorley, Barney Lafferty

Subs: Paddy Hannigan for Chad Mc Sorley, Ryan Duffy for Stephen Mulligan, Shane Duffy for Conor Griffin, Andrew Mc Closkey for Luke Gavigan

Four Masters:  Martin Cassidy, Enda Bonner, John Boyle, Cathal Canavan, Caolan Loughney, Aaron McCrea, Jamie Crawford (0-3), Kevin McBrearty (0-3 2f), Barry Dunnion, Patrick Reid, Josh Lacey, Leo McHugh (1-1), Jason Duignan (1-1), Sean Meehan, Emmett Doogan

Subs: Matthew Mc Kenna for Emmett Doogan, Oisin Reid for John Lacey, Eoin Curley for Sean Meehan