Early 'Brick' goal helps Naomh Conaill to win over St. Eunan's

St. Eunan's suffer first league defeat of the season





Naomh Conaill v St. Eunan's

Action from Davy Brennan Memorial Park where Naomh Conaill defeated St. Eunan's. Photo: Thomas Gallagher

A late goal from Cillian Morrison wasn’t enough to deny Naomh Conaill a well deserved league win against St. Eunan’s at Dany Brennan Memorial Park on Sunday. 

Naomh Conaill . . . 1-10

St. Eunan’s . . . 1-5

It means St. Eunan’s 100 per cent start to the league campaign comes to an end on a day when neither team included any of their county players.

Naomh Conaill got off to a whirlwind start and led by five points early on with Dermot ‘Brick’ Molloy scoring their goal. John O’Malley had given them the lead from a free and Eoin Waide made it 1-2 to no score, although he shot over when he could have found the net.

By half-time however, St. Eunan’s had worked their way back into the contest and trailed by just a point, 1-2 to 0-4. Their scores came from  Jamie Doherty, Ross Wherity, Conor Gibbons and Rory Kavanagh.

Playing with the wind in their backs, Martin Regan's team stretched their advantage out to eight points when they reeled off seven unanswered points in the third quarter with Molloy and Logan Quinn among their scorers.

Morrison hit the net for St. Eunan’s and substitute Conor O’Donnell raised a late white flag but Naomh Conaill, thanks to a great start and a hugely impressive third quarter, did enough to win.

Naomh Conaill: Stephen McGrath; Aaron Thompson, AJ Gallagher, Jason Campbell; Ultan Doherty, Kevin McGettigan, Eoin Waide (0-02); Ciaran Gallagher, Ethan O'Donnell (0-01, free); Seamus Ellis, Brendan McDyer (0-01), Eunan Doherty, John O'Malley (0-02, frees), Dermot Molloy (1-02, 1 free), Logan Quinn (0-02). Subs: Paul McGuinness for O'Malley (43 mins), Jeaic MacCeallbhui for McDyer (45 mins), O'Malley for Ellis (57 mins)

St Eunan's: Blake Forkan; Oisin Toal, Conor Parke, Sean Halvey; Conor Gibbons (0-01), Conor O'Donnell, Daragh Mulgrew; Sean McGettigan, Ross Wherity (0-01); Niall Hannigan, Rory Kavanagh (0-01), Conall Dunne; Conor Moore, Lee McMonagle, Jamie Doherty (0-01). Subs: Conor O'Donnell (0-01) for Doherty (24 mins), Darragh Toal for McGettigan (half time), Brian McIntyre for D Toal (49 mins) and Cillian Morrison (1-00) for Moore (50 mins)