Late point sees MacCumhaill's keep their 100% record against Naomh Columba

Staff reporter


Staff reporter

Late point sees MacCumhaill's keep their 100% record against Naomh Columba

A Chad McSorley point in stoppage time gave MacCumhaills’ the spoils in what was a tight contest in Glencolmcille.


Naomh Columba 0-9

MacCumhaill’s 0-10


For the first 10 minutes both teams were solid at the back with only one point a piece from Ryan Gillespie and Padhraic Patton.

Ryan Gillespie traded a point with Stephen Mulligan before Fionn Gallagher struck to put the home side in front. Barney Lafferty levelled in the 17th minute before Ryan Gillespie pointed. Before half time, MacCumhaills were in front with overs from Darren O’Leary, the second a free, to leave the half-time score, Naomh Columba 0-5, Sean MacCumhaill’s 0-6.

The second-half was hardly a minute old when Barney Lafferty got his second point. In the 35th minute, Gavin Gallagher put three between the sides. Tadhg McGinley got the home team back on track on 41 minutes but the gap was three again when Luke Gavigan coolly slotted over.

A long range point from Lanty Molloy on 50 minutes again put two between them. Aaron Kelly increased the lead again. Late drama saw scores from Kieran McBrearty and Phillip Doherty put just one point between them.

In stoppage time, a close range Aaron Doherty free looked to have salvaged a point. But straight from the kick-out, MacCumhaills won the ball in midfield and the ball ended up in the hands of Chad McSorley to score the winning point. 


NAOMH COLUMBA: Shane O’Gara; Barry Carr, Martin Cunningham, Kieran McBrearty (0-1); Philip Doherty (0-1), Fionn Gallagher (0-1), Paul Doherty; Padraig Byrne, Pauric Ward; Tadhg McGinley (0-1), Pauric Cunningham, Stephen Jones; Ryan Gillespie (0-3,1f) Aaron Doherty (0-1,f) Kevin McNern.

Subs: Lanty Molloy (0-1), Michael McGuire, Steven Callaghan, Pauric O’Neill. 


MACCUMHAILL’S: Eoin Gallen; Adam Lynch, Christopher Gallagher, Conor Griffin; Shane Duffy, Garry Dunnion, Gavin Gallagher (0-1); Nathan Gavigan, Padhraic Patton (0-1), Garry Wilson; Steven O’Reilly, Darren O’Leary (0-2), Stephen Mulligan (0-1); Ronan McMenamin, Brian Lafferty (0-2).

Subs: Aaron Kelly (0-1), Luke Gavigan (0-1), Oisin Gallen, Chad McSorley (0-1), Martin Gallagher. 


REFEREE: Greg McGrory (Four Masters)