Loreto Milford take first ever Arthurs Cup, defeating Pobailscoil Gaoth Dobhair

Staff reporter


Staff reporter

Loreto Milford take first ever Arthurs Cup, defeating Pobailscoil Gaoth Dobhair

Loreto Milford, winners of Arthurs Cup

Loreto Community School, Milford are celebrating a first Ulster Schools’ Arthurs Cup (U-16) success following Monday’s final win over Pobalscoil Gaoth Dobhair, in Convoy.

Loreto CS, Milford 1-9

Pobalscoil Gaoth Dobhair 1-3

Kyle McFadden scored the goal and also kicked two points; Johnny McGroddy posted 0-4 while Rory O’Donnell, Ciaran Moore and Liam McGrenaghan hit the other points for the first time champions.

The winners, who squandered a lot of good scoring chances in the opening half hour, led 0-4 to 0-1 at half-time.

And the Milford boys raced five ahead thanks to two quick fire McGroddy points after half-time.

But a fisted Joey Gillespie goal threw the Pobalscoil a lifeline and it was game on with Milford’s lead cut to two again, 1-3 to 1-1.

McGroddy and Gillespie traded points as the margin was two points for most of the half until Kyle McFadden restored Milford three point advantage with a little over two minutes remaining.

But Gillespie made it a two point game before McFadden sealed the win with a late goal after Shane Black’s strike came back off the upright.

LORETO CS, MILFORD: Aodh McBride; Liam McAlary, Conor Coll, Dylan Dorrian; Stephen Black, Conor Black, Aaron Reid; Rory O’DonneLl (0-1), Ciaran Moore (0-1); Shane Black, Liam McGrenaghan (0-1), Tiarnan McBride; Johnny McGroddy (0-4), Steve McDaid, Kyle McFadden (1-2). Subs; Conor McBride for T McBride; Ethan Cullen for S McDaid; Matthew McLaughlin for L McGrenaghan.

POBAILSCOIL GAOTH DOBHAIR: Daithi Roberts; Michael Doherty, Ronan Turk, Aodhan Breathnach; Donal McBride, Fionnan Coyle, Conor Hanlon; Eoin De Burca, Fiachra Coyle; Ciaran McAteer (0-1), Kyle Doohan, Joey Gillespie (1-2); Cian McBride, Stephen McFadden, Jamie Doherty. Sub: Patrick Ferry for C McBride.