Kieran Gallagher is 2016 Paddy Byrne Perpetual Cup Champion

Kieran Gallagher is 2016 Paddy Byrne Perpetual Cup Champion

Kieran Gallagher from Ardara, who throws for John the Miners in Carrick, is the 2016 Paddy Byrne darts champion.

He becomes the 12th different player to win this cup which is in its 21st year and joins the list along with John McGinley 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2002, Irwin Muirhead 2004, 2001, 1995, Dermot McGuire 2015, 2013, 2009, Seamus Curran 2000, 1999, John Gallagher 2014, Michael Naulty 2012, Kieran Carr 2011, Mike Naulty 2010, Declan Cunningham 2003, David Gillespie 1998, Terence Cunningham 1997 and James P Byrne 1996.

Gallagher who lost last year’s final to Dermot McGuire 6-0 made no mistake this year and was a deserving winner. In the final he defeated Andrew Gillespie who was appearing in his first final 6-4 in front of a large crown in John Eoinin's. 54 players entered this year and we had some great matches on the day.

The big match in the opening round was the pairing of the leagues two county players when Andrew Gillespie beat 2014 champion John Menchia 3-0. Also in the first round young Shaunie Boyle beat three times winner Irwin Muirhead 3-1; Liam Donegan had a 110 checkout and Aidan McGinley a 103 checkout in their matches.

In the last sixteen Kieran Gallagher beat Kevin McNern 3-0 and Andrew had a 3-0 win against Paddy Haughey in the quarter finals Kieran had a 4-0 win over Jamie McNern and Andrew beat Kevin Squiers 4-1; holder Dermot won 4-1 against 2011 winner Kieran Carr and 2003 runner up Kenneth Kennedy won 4-1 against Jason Cunnea.

In the semi-finals it was a repeat of last year’s final with Kieran coming out on top 4-3 against Dermot McGuire while Andrew Gillespie had a 4-1 win against Kenneth Kennedy. Sadly we were missing a regular player in this tournament in Connie O’Gara who passed away a few days before the event and his presence was sadly missed. Thanks to all the players who took part all who marked and checked matches to Roartys and John Eoinin's for hosting this event again and to sponsors Heineken.


Kieran Gallagher 6 Andrew Gillespie 4

Semi Finals

Kieran Gallagher 4 Dermot McGuire 3

Andrew Gillespie 4 Ken Kennedy 1

Quarter Finals

Kieran Gallagher 4 Jamie McNern 0

Dermot McGuire 4 Kieran Carr 1

Andrew Gillespie 4 Kevin Squires 1

Kenneth Kennedy 4 Jason Cunnea 1

Last 16

Kieran Gallagher 3 Kevin McNern 0

Jamie McNern 3 Aidan McGinley 1

Dermot McGuire 3 Seanie Boyle 0

Kieran Carr 3 Conor McNelis 0

And Gillespie 3 Paddy Haughey 0

Kevin Squires 3 Steven Muirhead 1

Ken Kennedy 3 Michael Byrne 2

Jason Cunnea 3 Joe Shovlin 0