Donegal ease to victory over Sligo in challenge game

Jamie Brennan hits 1-3 for Rory Gallagher's side

Peter Campbell


Peter Campbell


Donegal ease to victory over Sligo in challenge

Donegal who played Sligo in Sunday's challenge game in Letterkenny. Photo: Geraldine Diver.

An experimental Donegal side eased to a comfortable win over Sligo in Sunday's challenge game at the Colaiste Ailigh grounds in Letterkenny.

Donegal 1-18

Sligo 0-9

Rory Gallagher's team were always in control in this 13-a-side contest which will be considered a good run-out for Donegal ahead of their Dr. McKenna Cup campaign. 
In perfect conditions, Donegal looked really lively in the opening half, especially up front where Cian Mulligan was involved in almost everything and Jamie Brennan was hungry for ball.
Donegal had four points on the board inside six minutes, two Michael Langan frees, and two long range efforts from Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Michael Carroll.
Sligo had their best period after that with points from Cathal Henry (2) and a third from Brian Egan.
Jamie Brennan and Michael Langan (free) increased the Donegal lead to 0-6 ot 0-3. Sligo did have a great goal chance on 19 minutes but Cathal Brennan's thunderous effort rebounded off the crossbar and they were unable to capitalise on the rebound.
Donegal then took complete control with points from Cian Mulligan and Jason McGee before Jamie Brennan clinically finished a goal after good approach work by Kieran Gillespie, Darach O'Connor and Michael Langan.
Brennan, looking really lively, added two more points to leave Donegal ahead by 1-10 to 0-3 at the break.

In the second half, Donegal continued to have the better of things and Ciaran Thompson hit three points after coming on as a half-time sub.

Scorers - Donegal: Michael Langan 0-7, 5f, '45; Jamie Brennan 1-3; Ciaran Thompson 0-3, 1f; Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Michael Carroll, Jason McGee, Cian Mulligan, Christopher McLaughlin 0-1 each.

Sligo: Cathal Brennan 0-6, 3f; Cathal Henry 0-3; Brian Egan 0-1.

DONEGAL: Mark Anthony McGinley; Conor Morrison, Eoghan Ban Gallagher; Paul Brennan, Caolan Ward, Kieran Gillespie; Jason McGee, Michael Langan; Christopher McLaughlin, Cian Mulligan, Michael Carroll; Jamie Brennan, Darach O'Connor. Subs., Ciaran Thompson for McGee, ht.; Ethan O'Donnell for Gillespie; Eamonn McGrath for Mulligan, both 35; Brendan McCole for Morrison 38; Mark McHugh for McLaughlin 47; Peter Boyle for McGinley 48; Caolan McGonigle for Carroll 50

SLIGO: Aidan Devanney; Eoin McHugh, Peter Laffey; Keelan Cawley, James Clarke, Enda Connolly; Stephen Gilmartin, James Hynes; Cristoir Daly, Padraic Clarke, Brian Egan; Cathal Henry, Cathal Brennan. Subs., Fintan Ruddy for Devanney; Sean Gorman for Connolly; Sean Power for McHugh; Declan McCormick for Hynes; Cian Lally for Egan, all ht.; James Hynes for Lally 32;

REFEREE: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).