Donegal Community Games hold their AGM

The Donegal of Community AGM was held recently with a good turnout from all the areas.

Chairman Manus O'Donnell stated that it was another very successful year for the games with 18 areas taking part in over 40 different events. He thanked all the managers and volunteers for preparing the children for the different competitions and congratulated all the competitors who represented the County at the National finals in Athlone.

He stated that the Media coverage from the local press was fantastic and thanked all the sports editors for highlighting the competitions each week. He congratulated the areas who won National Volunteer and Media awards, Mary O'Donnell Milford won the Adult Volunteer award; Youth award Alysha Herron Fanad; best Area award Letterkenny who also won the Best Provincial Area award; best Small Area Ramelton. Two National Media awards also came to the County. Manus thanked the secretaries and all the committee members for their hard work during the year.

Sponsorship Chairman Michael Crossan thanked all the groups who financially supported the games. Donegal Creameries Aurivo continue to be our main sponsor. He also thanked the Councillors from the Letterkenny Municipal area and Pramerica for their funding. He stated that without the funding it would be a difficult task to organise the games.

National Director Bernie Brennan stated that the contract for the National Finals in Athlone will not be renewed. The new venue for 2017 will be the National Sports Campus Dublin with the first competitions being held on the 6th May.

The meeting concluded with the election of officers for the coming year: President Marie Gibson; Chairman Manus O'Donnell; Vice Chairman Bernie Brennan; Secretary Mary Crossan; Assist. Secretary Rosemary Foy; Treasurer Cathal Hagan; PRO Michael Crossan; Childrens Officer Bernie O'Callaghan and NEAC delegate Catherine Boyce.