Convention 2016 to be a quiet affair

Convention 2016 to be a quiet affair
Peter Campbell @dgldemocrat

The Donegal GAA Convention, which will take place in the Abbey Hotel, Donegal Town on Sunday next, is likely to be a very quiet affair.

With just one likely contested vote, it is possible that the proceedings could be wrapped up in three or four hours.

Gone are the days that GAA Convention started at 12 noon and continued until nine or ten o’clock, leaving delegates travelling home on frosty roads late on Sunday night.

Nowadays GAA Conventions are much more mundane, with little debate. Indeed many counties hold their annual get-togethers mid-week and they take just a couple of hours.

For the Donegal event this year, the only officer contest will be for the two Ulster Council delegates with outgoing officer, PJ McGowan, joined in the race by Pat Walsh (Bundoran), Liam McElhinney (St. Michael’s), Mick McGrath (Aodh Ruadh), David Kelch (N Conaill), Brendan Kelly (Convoy), Grace Boyle (Termon) and Denis Ellis (N Columba).

One other nominee, Anthony Harkin (Ardara), who has served five years as Coaching Officer, has announced that he will probably not be leaving his name in the hat for the Ulster Council race.

“At the moment I'm thinking of pulling. There are quite a number of candidates nominated. PJ McGowan is already in there (in Ulster) and is involved as chairman at Ulster Coaching body and doing a good job there,” said Harkin, speaking to the Democrat this week.

However, all the others, when contacted, said they were still in the race, some more committed than others.

Pat Walsh, Liam McElhinney, David Kelch and Grace Boyle all went with the line “I’m leaving my name in the race.”

Brendan Kelly was more definitive. “I’m definitely leaving my name in the hat and see what happens,” said Kelly.

Denis Ellis was equally adamant: “I am leaving my name in,” said Ellis.

Aodh Ruadh's Mick McGrath is also a definite contender.

Outgoing delegate P J McGowan said:"I'll be allowing my name go forward again. I've served one year on this term and I'm involved in the Coaching and Games Development committee as chairman and it is something I would like to continue," said McGowan.

Because there is such a big number of candidates for the two Ulster Council delegate positions, rumours circulating at the weekend about the eligibility of two of the candidates (PJ McGowan and Mick McGrath) caused something of a stir, but that seems to have been cleared up by Donegal chairman, Sean Dunnion (see back page lead story).

The only new face on the Executive will see Convoy’s Conor McDermott elected unopposed as Coaching Officer as both Mick McGrath and Pauric Harvey have withdrawn their names.

The nominations for Sunday’s Convention are:

Cathaoirleach (Chairman): Sean Dunnion

Leas Chathaoirleach (Vice Chairman): Frankie Doherty

Runai (Secretary): Aideen Gillen

Rúnaí Cunta (Ass. Secretary): Declan Martin

Cisteoir (Treasurer): Cieran Kelly

Leas Chisteoir (Ass. Treasurer): Paddy Tinney

Oifigeach Caidrimh Phoiblí (P.R.O.): Ed Byrne

Oifigeach Forbartha (Development Officer): David McLoone,

Oifigeach Gaeilge agus Cultúir: Fergus Mac Aoidh

Oifigeach Oiliúna (Coaching Officer): Mick McGrath, Pauric Harvey, Conor McDermott,

Ionadaí ar Ard Chomhairle CLG (Central Council Representative): Seamus Ó Domhnaill

Ionadaí ar Comhairle Uladh (2) (Ulster Council representatives): P.J. Mc Gowan, Pat Walsh, Anthony Harkin, Liam McElhinney, Mick McGrath, David Kelch, Brendan Kelly, Grace Boyle, Dennis Ellis

Teachtaí go Comhdháil Bhliantúil Chomhairle Uladh (Delegates to Ulster Convention) (3): Edward Molloy, Brendan Kelly Pat Walsh, Mickey McMahon, David McLoone, Seamus Ó Domhnaill, Ed Byrne,

Teachtaí go Comhdháil Bhliantúil CLG (Delegates to National Congress) (1): Mick McGrath, Ed Byrne, Edward Molloy, Pat Conaghan.