Honours even as leaders Donegal held by Raphoe Town


Honours even as leaders Donegal held by Raphoe Town

Donegal League Division One leaders Donegal Town maintained their unbeaten start to their league campaign following Sunday's draw at Raphoe Town.

Raphoe Town 1

Donegal Town 1

Donegal manager Paul McHugh suggested afterwards that this was more a case of a point gained than two points dropped for his team.

Raphoe Town, going steady in mid-table, played well over the 90 minutes and had their chances to win this game.

A draw, however, seemed a fair outcome and the result means that Donegal stay top of the table.

They had to come from behind to pick up what could well be a crucial point - Daniel McHugh firing to the corner of the net on 51 minutes.

The goal came just two minutes after Raphoe had grabbed the lead. DJ Kelly volleyed to the net after substitute Keelan Bogle managed to flick on a Christy Bogle free-kick.

Kelly was a constant threat in attack for the home side and earlier in the game, was unlucky to see a goalbound header blocked by visiting defender Brighton.

Donegal however, enjoyed good periods of possession and shortly after their equaliser, they almost grabbed a second but Roy Duffy in the Raphoe goal made a fine save to deny Joe McIntyre.

Soon after Daniel McHugh also went close following another Donegal set-piece.

But Raphoe held firm and with Ryan McCullagh working hard up front and Jamie Gallagher and Paddy Kelly also doing well, they kept the visiting defence busy.

They didn't create too many chances of note, but they worked hard for their manager Shane Dolan, and their positive approach got them the point they deserved.ack Declan Brown and Joe McIntyre.

Donegal, who lost Eoin Slevin to injury before half time, were best served by Ramie McGroary in midfield, left back Declan Brown and Joe McIntyre.

RAPHOE TOWN: Roy Duffy, Seamus Bogle, Craig Kelly, Tom McHugh, Stephen Craig (Keelan Bogle 45), David Craig (Colin Laird 76), Paddy Kelly, Christy Bogle, Ryan McCullagh, DJ Kelly, Jamie Gallagher.

DONEGAL TOWN: Liam O'Meara, Brighton, Declan Brown, Danny McGarrigle, Pauric Harvey, Ramie McGroary, Ciaran Monaghan (Gary Ward 57), Eoin Slevin (Ciaran O'Reilly 36), Stephen Curneen (David Bustard 76), Daniel McHugh, Joe McIntyre.

REFEREE: Marty Quinn.