Arranmore win again in Maghery, but only just

DONEGAL LEAGUE SPECIAL: Glencar Inn Saturday League

Arranmore win again in Maghery, but only just

Arranmore United maintained their great record of never having lost against Strand Rovers on their home turf in Maghery.

Strand Rovers . . . . . . . . . . . . . 0

Arranmore United . . . . . . . . 1

They maintained that record with a 1-0 win over the locals with new signing John O’Malley, from Glenties, scoring the game’s only goal on what was his debut.

O’Malley was one of three Naomh Conaill GAA players lining out for the Islanders. County ace Leo McLoone and A J Gallagher were also in the starting 11.

The goal, came early after a good start from Arranmore with McLoone and Malley very involved in the opening exchanges as the visitors took the fight to the locals.

O’Malley struck on nine minutes after getting on the end of a good cross from Paul Early, one of Arranmore’s new kids on the block.

It proved the difference between the sides and confirms Arranmore's ability to make chances count.

But the goal seemed to spur the locals on and they dominated for the remainder of the game, but just couldn’t break down a stubborn Arranmore rearguard.

The locals had the bulk of the scoring chances with Brendan Glackin and Brendan Brennan, who had big games in the middle of the field going close in the first half.

And Glackin, Brennan, Matthew O’Donnell went close to breaking Strand’s duck in the second half with both Glackin and O’Donnell denied by two good saves from John Greene.

Arranmore were restricted to a couple of long strikes and crosses from a few corners. But in reality they never threatened Kevin McGovern’s net.

STRAND ROVERS: Kevin McGovern; Adrian McGeehan, Gerard Diver, Jack Doherty, Stephen Glackin, Patrick Glackin, Brendan Brennan, Brendan Glackin, Matthew Monaghan (Darren O’Donnell 77), Michael Ward, Matthew O’Donnell.

ARRANMORE UNITED: John Greene; Phil Boyle, Declan Proctor, Michael McHugh, Danny Rodgers, A J Gallagher (Przemek Turski 79), Brian Proctor, John O’Malley, Paul Early, Leo McLoone (Conor Proctor 65), Sean O’Hara (Aaron McCafferty 58).

REFEREE: Mickey Mulhern.