Erne Wanderers win South Donegal under 12 league title

Historic win for Ballyshannon based club

Democrat Reporter


Democrat Reporter

Erne Wanderers win South Donegal under 12 league title

A one nil win over Donegal Town at the Lakeside Centre in Ballyshannon this afternoon was enough to ensure Ballyshannon based Erne Wanderers FC would win the south Donegal under 12 schoolboys league title.

Played on the always fast, slick astro surface at the Lakeside, both teams showed remarkable technical skill all through and Lee Graham of the South Donegal Schoolboys League, alluded to this at the presentation of the cup after the game.

This has been a really intriguing league with Erne Wanderers needing to win to secure the title.

As it turned out it was Erne's captain, Aaron Neilan who got the all important goal, early in the first half, and thereafter the game was on a knife edge as both sides played crisp, fast passing football.

Donegal town were always dangerous and their decision to move Ruairi McLaughlin in as an out and out centre forward in the final minutes almost paid off but wonderful defending by Erne kept them out.

Erne had many stars, but their two full backs, Shane Delahunty and Aiden Sweeny, never put a foot wrong for the hour while Damian Webber was a rock at centre-half.

Neilan and Aaron Cullen, who picked up an injury and came off mid way through the second half, were always impressive while up front Jack Gallagher looked a real threat in the second half and was unlucky not to score Erne's second goal ten minutes from the finish.

Lee Graham paid tribute to both teams and told the Donegal town players they could hold their heads high as they had contributed hugely to a fascinating game.