Peter O'Donnell enters boxing Hall of Fame

Donegal Boxing Boards annual awards night SPORT - BOXING

Peter O'Donnell enters boxing Hall of Fame
Tom Comack

Legendary Donegal boxing official, Peter O’Donnell, is the latest entrant to Donegal Boxing Hall of Fame.

The popular Raphoe Boxing Club coach and President/ PRO of the Donegal Boxing Board was inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Donegal Boxing Boards annual awards night in the Central Hotel in Donegal Town on Saturday night.

Peter was a double award winner on the night; he also received an appreciation award from the Ulster Boxing Board for his services to Ulster and Irish boxing. This award was presented to Peter by Paul McMahon, President of the Ulster Boxing Board.

Among the other special guests were Eugene Duffy, Martin Walsh and Eamon Henry from the Ulster Boxing Board and Eugene O’Kane from the Irish Amateur Boxing Association.

Other awards were presented on a night all the great and good of Donegal boxing were out in all their finery were;

Appreciation awards: John Hanna, St. John Bosco Boxing Club; Raymond Donaghey, Clonmany BC; Jim McCole, Dungloe BC; Chris McNulty, Donegal Sport Hub.

Judges awards: Noel McGonagle and Paul McGettigan, Clonmany BC

Referee award: Sadie Duffy, Illies GG

James ‘Spider’ Kelly Memorial Shield: Chloe McDaId, Illies GG

National Champions: Paddy McShane, Letterkenny BC; John Moran, Aaron Gillespie, Chloe McDaid, Illies GG; Mark McCole, Dungloe BC.

International Award: Donna Barr, Twin Towns BC

Irish Senior champion: Liam Callaghan, Jessica Clarke, Carndonagh BC

University Award: Aaron Doherty, Letterkenny BC; Saidha Breen, Edenderry BC & LYIT; Labhaise Clarke, Carndonagh BC; Bernie McDonagh, Dunfanaghy BC; Maeve McCarron, Carrigart BC.

Michael Bonner Memorial Cup: Paddy McShane, Letterkenny BC (juvenile boxer)

Dr Denis McLaughlin Cup: John Moran, Illies GG (senior boxer)

John McDaid Cup: Labhaoise Clarke

John McLaughlin Cup: Maeve McCarron (Senior boxer )

Harry Duffy Cup: Donna Barr (Elite boxer)

Jimmy Murphy Cup: Illies GG (Club of the year)