Nominations open for Sports Star Awards


Nominations open for Sports Star Awards

With nominations opening today for the 41st Donegal Sports Star Awards it’s time for the names of those teams and individuals who have achieved this year to be in contention by being on the 2016 list which will be published in early January.

Choosing winners will not be easy as the bar has been set very high this year again. Chairperson Neil Martin is expecting a big entry again and has appealed to sporting organizations to get nominating immediately.

“2016 has been another big year for Donegal sport locally, nationally and on the world stage,” the chairperson said.

“The county has enjoyed many great successes on the team and individual front so it’s very important that those achievements are recognized.”

Mr. Martin confirmed that Donegal County Council will once again be the exclusive sponsor of the awards. “We’re delighted that the council will be providing the financial backing which has been so important to us down the years,” he said.

“Chief Executive Seamus Neely has been very happy with the profile that the Donegal Sports Star Awards has given the council across the county in promoting a healthy lifestyle and honouring those who have been nominated and been successful at our annual function.”

There will be at least one new category this year as the Primary Schools will be split with an award for a big school and small school. Flags will be presented in both of these categories as well as the winner of the secondary school award.

Nominations can be done online from the nominations page and emailed to or by completing a simple nomination form, which can be downloaded and posted to Paul McDaid, Post Office, Ramelton. 
Those not using on-line can simply post their nominations to Paul McDaid, Post Office, Ramelton.

A brief summary only of achievements will suffice. Pictorial and DVD footage is also required.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Nov. 25th. The Awards presentation function takes place on Friday, January 27th in the Mount Errigal Hotel.