Glenfin win first Division Three Minor title

Glenfin win first Division Three Minor title
Tom Comack @dgldemocrat

Glenfin are Donegal Division Three minor football champions following their final win over Malin in Convoy.

Glenfin . . . . . . . . . 1-13

Malin . . . . . . . . . . . . 2-6

It took a five star performance from Stephen Carr, Karl McGlynn and Matthew McGinley for Glenfin to claim the title against a dogged and determined Malin who were in the tie until the closing ten minutes.

Glenfin scored first through Kyle O’Meara, but it was Malin who got off to a lightning start with two goals in the opening nine minutes.

Oisin McGonagle hit the first on four minutes and Josh Conlon fired home the second four minutes later for a 2-0 to 0-2 lead.Stephen Carr scored Glenfin’s second.

Stephen Carr and Karl McGlynn slowly found their form and Glenfin had the better of the second quarter.

And a Karl McGlynn goal on the stroke of half-time sent them in 1-6 to 2-1 ahead.

Karl McGlynn, Stephen Carr, Matthew McGinley and Adam Marley scored the points for the men from the Gaeltacht Lár.

Matthew McGinley kicked the first point of the second half to extend Glenfin’s lead.

But just as they had done in the opening half, Malin enjoyed a good spell and hit the next four scores to go back in front by one by the end of the third quarter.

Conor McGeoghegan (2), Sean O’Neill and Ciaran Doherty kicked the points for a 2-5 to 1-7 Malin lead.

But in a repeat of the second quarter Glenfin took control again and thanks to points from Stephen Carr (4) and one each from Matthew McGinley and Adam Marley ran out deserving winners.

GLENFIN; Luke Reder; Darren Marley, Shane O'Donnell, Jack Marley; Odhran McGlynn, Thomas Walsh, Keelan McMonagle; Stephen Carr (0-6,2f), Karl McGlynn(1-1); Kyle O'Meara (0-1), Matthew McGinley (0-3,1,f), Kaine McGlynn, John Harkin, Adam Marley (0-2), Charlie Herron. Subs: Jason Gallagher for J Harki, 34; Martin Doherty for J Harkin 38.

MALIN: Ronan Lafferty; Robert Boggs, Cormac Sullivan, Conor Kelly; Conor Quigley, Ryan Doherty, Conor McColgan; Conor Bambrick, Ciaran Doherty (0-1); Oisin McGonagle (1-1), Joe Doherty, Conor McGeoghegan (0-3,2f); Josh Conlon (1-0), Joe Doherty, Conor Gallagher. Subs: Sean O’Neill (0-1,f) for Joe Doherty, h/t; Sean Byrne for R Boggs 45; Ciaran Doherty for C Bambrick 58.

REFEREE: Mickey Mulhern (St Eunan’s)