Disappointment for USL at Interprovincials

Disappointment for USL at Interprovincials

There was disappointment for the Ulster Senior League side who fell at the final hurdle in their quest to win the FAI Interprovincial title in Cork at the weekend.

The USL side knew that a draw over Munster in their final game on Sunday morning would have been enough to clinch the Michael Ward trophy.

They fell behind in the first half against Munster but even at that stage, a one-nil reversal would still have been good enough for the USL to win the Cup on goal difference.

However, a penalty in the second half saw Munster double their lead and the USL couldn’t claw their way back into the game.

It meant that while Munster and Ulster both finished the tournament on six points from their three games, the host province were crowned champions.

The Ulster Senior League had started their weekend with a win over the Leinster Senior League on Friday night. Mark Moran, Paul McVeigh and Ryan Varma scored the goals in a 3-1 victory.

On Saturday, the USL met Connacht with Davitt Walsh coming into the side and scoring twice in a 2-0 victory.

USL SIDE THAT PLAYED MUNSTER: Rory Kelly (Letterkenny), Gareth Breslin (Bonagee United), Conor Tourish (Letterkenny Rovers), Peter Doherty (Cockhill Celtic), Sam Todd (Derry City Reserves), Jack Blake (Derry City Reserves), Aidan McCauley (Bonagee United), Derek Doherty (Cockhill Celtic), Mark Moran (Cockhill Celtic), Ronan Olly Doherty (Cockhill Celtic), Paul McVeigh (Letterkenny Rovers).

Subs: Conor Keddy (Cockhill Celtic), Adrian Delap (Derry City Reserves), Stephen Duffy (Derry City Reserves), Laurence Toland (Swilly Rovers), Ryan Varma (Cockhill Celtic).