Classy Four Masters side lift Southern U-13 title

Classy Four Masters side lift Southern U-13 title
Peter Campbell @dgldemocrat

Four Masters, powered by a very strong forward line, were too good for Killybegs in the U-13 Div. One Southern final in Mountcharles.

Four Masters . . . . . . . . . . . 6-12

Killybegs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-8

This was a good contest until the closing minutes of the first half. After being hit by two Four Masters goals in as many minutes from Dermot Slevin and Ultan O'Grady, Killybegs grafted their way back into the contest and indeed briefly led 1-4 to 2-0 after ten minutes.

Christopher Mulligan was the main architect of their scores, hitting 0-3 while Dylan Murphy blasted home the goal.

Murphy then almost had a second goal as his effort went justs over.

That seemed to spur Four Masters as they hit back with a third goal from Sean Quinn and a point from the elusive Dermot Slevin. Christopher Mulligan replied with a point, but when Ultan Grady had the fourth Four Masters goal, the tide turned in their favour.

By half-time they led 4-4 to 1-7 with Dermot Slevin and Conor Reid adding points to one in reply from Mulligan.

As the heavens opened in the second half, it was Four Masters who dominated, their fifth goal arriving shortly after the restart from Diarmuid O'Donnell, while Slevin, Quinn and Conor Reid all contributed second half points.

The sixth goal came midway through the half, a well taken effort by Jamie Gorrell.

Both sides hit the crossbar in the second half but the only return for Killybegs was a Christopher Mulligan free.

FOUR MASTERS: Oisin McCallig; Callum Stewart, Andrew Monaghan, Josh McCrea, Lee Murchan, Diarmuid O'Donnell (1-0), Jamie Gorrell (1-0), Senan Quinn (1-3), Evan Gallagher, Dermot Slevin (1-5,2f), Frank Cornyn, Mark Jordan (0-2,1f), Ultan O'Grady (2-0). Subs., Conor Reid (0-2), Liam McLoughlin, Adam Gillespie.

KILLYBEGS: Ki Bries: Dillon McLoughlin, Damien Boyle, Eamon Curran, Ferdia McGuinness, Bayleigh Moore, Dylan Murphy (1-1), Dermot Cunningham (0-1), Daniel McCallig, Christopher Mulligan (0-6,2f), Lee Mooney, Josh Cunningham, Alex McGinley. Subs., Colin Mooney, Matthew Cunningham, Gavin Gallagher, Josh Coyler, Mairtin Herrity, Adam O'Neill, JP McGuinness, Senan McGuinness, Chris Gillespie.

REFEREE: Eugene McHale (Bundoran)