LYIT Donegal undone by Dublin Lions

National Basketball League

Sports reporter


Sports reporter


LYIT Donegal undone by Dublin Lions

Vytaras Jankus with a three point shot during Saturday's game.

An exciting game in An Danlann in Letterkenny on Saturday ended in bitter defeat for LYIT Donegal against Dublin Lions in the National Basketball League.

LYIT Donegal 72

Dublin Lions 77

A back and forth game with 12 lead changes looked like it was going to be LYIT Donegal’s first ever National League win when they held a 4 point lead with just over a minute remaining.

But a huge three pointer and some clutch plays let the Lions edge ahead and close the game with a win.
American Victory Scholar Jack Mackey led all scorers for LYIT Donegal with 19 points including some huge three pointers in the fourth quarter. Oisin Kerlin also had an impressive game with 11 points and 14 rebounds. Derry man Jordan McClelland was back from injury and although his shot wasn’t as accurate as usual he was in the heart of the action and finished with 5 points, 6 rebounds and 5 assists.
Despite being bitterly disappointed head coach Niall McDermott took some positives from the result “It’s really frustrating to lose a close one like that, we were up 7 with four minutes to go and should have had the composure to close it out but we made a few key errors, silly turnovers and took some poor shots which let them back in it," he said.

"When you compare it to last week it is a huge improvement though, our offence looked much better and we got a lot of the shots we wanted but just couldn’t convert enough of them. The aim is to build on this now and try and make more improvements before our next game away to Sligo in 2 weeks”.
LYIT Donegal now face back to back away games as they travel away to Sligo on Saturday 22nd October and Galway Titans on Saturday, 29th October.
Jack Mackey (19), T John Casiello (11), Oisin Kerlin (11), Kevin Stanley (7), Jimmy Puha, (7), Paul McHugh (6), Jordan McClelland (5), Mark Cannon (4), Vytaras Jankus (2), Stephen Cannon, Zak Balogun, David Whoriskey, Tiyrone Weir, Michael Leadley, Rahman Balogun