Kilcar have too much scoring power for Termon


Kilcar have too much scoring power for Termon
Peter Campbell

It wasn't pretty but Kilcar eased into the semi-final of the championship against Termon in MacCumhaill Park.

Kilcar 0-19

Termon 0-4

Termon set out to disrupt the favourites and some of their tactics were not legal, but some very lenient officiating meant that it was not pretty to watch.

The final scoreline showed a gulf between the teams and it was fully justified. There was little atmosphere apart from supporters urging linesmen and referee to take action, but we had to wait until the 51st minute for a black card to be shown, that to James McSharry as he took Eoin McHugh out on a forward run.

Stephen McBrearty came in for a lot of treatment, as did Eoin McHugh and the Kilcar management pulled both ashore in the second half when the game was safe.

Kilcar led 0-11 to 0-2 at the end of the first half which had more off the ball stuff than football being played.

Termon went out to ruffle Kilcar, and, to be honest, they were not punished by the officials.

Michael Hegarty was the star of the opening half, and had the opening point inside a minute.

Termon replied through Enda McCormick in the second minute, but they would not raise another flag until th 25th minute, when Daire McDaid got their other point.

Kilcar were the dominant side and points flowed, especially from Hegarty, who hit four in total in the opening half, three with his right and one with his left.

Patrick McBrearty chipped in with three (two) frees, while Andrew McClean (2), Barry Shovlin and Eoin McHugh also got on the scoresheet.

In some ways it was a stroll for Kilcar in the second half with McBrearty adding three; Matthew McClean two and Ciaran McGinley and Ryan McHugh also got on the scoresheet.

Termon could manage just two more points, from Ricky Gallagher in the first minute of the half and the other from substitute Fintan Flynn.

KILCAR: Eamonn McGinley; Stephen Shovlin, Conor McShane, Patrick Gallagher; Barry Shovlin (0-1), Mark McHugh, Ryan McHugh (0-1); Ciaran McGinley (0-1), Michael Hegarty (0-4); Conor Doherty, Stephen McBrearty, Eoin McHugh (0-1); Dara O'Donnell, Patrick McBrearty (0-7,3f), Andrew McClean (0-2). Subs., Matthew McClean (0-2) for S McBrearty 44; Mark Sweeney for E McHugh 52

TERMON: Michael Boyle; Nathan McElwaine, Kevin McDaid, Kevin McElwaine; Stephen McElwaine, Ricky Gallagher (0-1), James McSharry; Brendan Friel, Jamie Gallagher; Johnny McCafferty, Sean O'Donnell, Enda McCormick (0-1); Joe O'Donnell, Paddy McDaid, Daire McDaid (0-1). Subs., Shane Gallagher for O'Donnell 9; Caolan McDaid for B Friel 17; Fintan Flynn (0-1) for S McElwaine 42; Paul McSavage for McSharry bcard 52;

REFEREE: Sean Paul Doherty