St. Naul's celebrate U16 Division 2 success

St. Naul's celebrate U16 Division 2 success

St Naul’s are celebrating a Division Two Donegal U-16 League title following Sunday evening’s final win over Fanad Gaels in Convoy.

St Naul’s . . . 1-10

Fanad Gaels . . . 0-8

Darragh Griffin scored the goal and Daniel Meehan kicked four points for the side managed by Shaun Campbell and Stephen Griffin.

Played in windy conditions and driving rain for much of the 60 minutes, St Naul’s put in a storming second half performance to clinch the title.

Fanad played with the aid of the strong wind in the first half and led by three points at half-time thanks to the accuracy from frees of Mark McAteer.

Full-forward McAteer kicked three of Fanad’s first half points for a 0-6 to 0-3 half-time lead.

But it didn’t take St Naul’s long to get back on track and playing a fast running game, they were soon back on level terms.

With Daniel Meehan deadly accurate from placed balls with three quick points, they were back in the game big time when James McBrearty levelled the tie at 0-7 each.

And they were ahead shortly after when Meehan landed his fourth point for a 0-8 to 0-7 lead.


And it was game, set and match to St Naul’s when Darragh Griffin polished off a sweeping move with a goal to grace any occasion.

St Naul’s were worthy winners but there was little between two quality and evenly matched U-16 teams.

Indeed but for two brilliant second half saves from full-back Jamie Burke - early in the half - and goalkeeper Enda O’Hagan in injury time - it could have been a totally different outcome.

ST NAULS: Enda O’Hagan; Dillon McGroarty, Jamie Burke, Patrick Breslin; Cathal McGlynn, Ryan Coyle (0-1), Charlie Campbell; Ian Campbell (0-2), Michael Coughlan (0-1); James McBrearty (0-1), Daniel Gallagher (0-1), Ryan McBrearty; Darragh Griffin (1-0), Daniel Meehan (0-4), Kyle Campbell. Subs: Ryan Coughlan, Nathan McBrearty, Patrick Lynch.

FANAD GAELS; Eoin McGonigle; James Sweeney, Michael Sweeney, Shaun Sweeney; Brendan McClafferty, Darren McElwaine, Jonathan Gallagher; Fergus Friel, Bernard McGettigan(0-1); Kieran Coyle, John Friel (0-2), Matthew Gallagher; Eamon McGranaghan (0-1), Mark McAteer (0-3), Shaun Kerr (0-1). Sub: Casey Poole.

REFEREE: Pat Walsh (Bundoran)