Ardara in big trouble after defeat

Ardara in big trouble after defeat
By Tom Comack @dgldemocrat

Glenswilly gave their Division One survival hopes a real shot in the arm when they got the better of Ardara on Sunday.

Glenswilly . . . . . . . . 1-12

Ardara . . . . . . . . . . 2-5

In contrast, the defeat spells trouble for Ardara who are now bottom of the division with only two games to play. Those games are against St. Eunan’s (a) and Kilcar (h).

Ardara will be disappointed with this latest defeat, especially when they look at their second half display in which they managed only a single point over the 30 minutes.

That score from Conor Classan came within 30 seconds of the restart and levelled the game, 1-8 to 2-5

But Ardara, without the injured Paddy McGrath, failed to raise a flag after that, kicking a number of wides in the difficult, windy conditions.

Glenswilly, who were missing Michael Murphy, had eight different scorers with Christopher McMonagle getting their goal early in the game.

Ardara had scored the game’s opening goal when Lorcan O’Donnell found the net after good work by Conor Classan and CJ Molloy.

But the home side kicked some good points through Oisin Crawford and Brian Farrelly and with half time approaching, they led 1-6 to 1-3.

Ardara however, struck for their second goal on 27 minutes when Ryan Malley’s pass set up CJ Molloy to palm home.

By half time, there was just a point in it, 1-8 to 2-4, in favour of Glenswilly.

And while Ardara equalised through Classan just seconds into the new half, Glenswilly’s short passing and possession game helped them to two more points, both scored by Joe Gibbons.

A Keelan McFadden free extended their lead to a goal and Cathal Gallagher’s late point rounded off the win.

GLENSWILLY: James Gallagher; Cormac Callaghan, Eamonn Ward, Ryan Diver; Joe Gibbons (0-2), Aidan McDevitt, Oisin Crawford (0-2); Neil Gallagher (0-1), Caolan Kelly (0-1); Brian Farrelly (0-2), Cathal Gallagher (0-1), Ciaran Gibbons; Gary McFadden, Christopher McMonagle (1-1), Keelan McFadden (0-2, 2f). Subs: Caoimhin Marley for Farrelly 39, Philip O’Donnell for McMonagle 61.

ARDARA: Cathal Gallagher; Nicholas Maguire, Declan Gavigan, Kevin Breslin; Nicholas Breslin, Kenneth Doherty, Kieran Breslin; Conor Classan (0-1), Brendan McNelis (0-2, 1f, 1’45); Lorcan O’Donnell (1-0), Ryan Malley, Cillian Boyle; Gareth Concarr, CJ Molloy (1-0), Thomas Boyle (0-2). Subs: Jack Brennan for N Maguire 31, Johnny Herron for Boyle 56, Kevin Herron for Molloy, b/card 56.

REFEREE: Enda McFeely (Convoy).