Finn Harps U-19s have good win in Sligo

Airtricity U-19 League

Finn Harps U-19s have good win in Sligo

A fine team performance saw the Harps U19's score an important win in an exciting game away to Sligo Rovers tonight. On the half hour mark Declan Sharkey capitalised on some poor Sligo play and hit a lovely left footed shot into the net. Sligo almost responded immediately but instead Harps extended their advantage through a Simon McGlynn penalty.

It stayed that way until the 52nd minute when the home side opened their account, and with their tales up Rovers went looking for an equaliser. But again it was Harps who found the net near the hour mark with Gareth Doherty converting at the far post following a corner.

Sligo kept going though and made sure of a nervy finish by scoring a free soon after the third Harps goal. Harps could have extended their lead further but in the end had done enough to secure 3 points.

Afterwards Harps manager Joe Boyle described the U19's result as a 'very important victory' at the Showgrounds in a hugely entertaining game.

The result means that Harps go joint top for now with Dundalk but it may be brief with other games to be played mid-week. St Patrick’s Athletic and Derry City are the other two sides currently occupying the top four positions in the Northern section.

Harps face Shelbourne this Saturday at 2.00pm in Finn Park. They will be looking to collect another three points and build on that excellent performance against their local rivals. By that stage Derry City will have played Dundalk and the play-off picture will have developed further towards its conclusion. Boyle was delighted with the performance and the players’ application. “The focus for us quickly switches to Saturday and Shelbourne” the manager said. Harps hope to have Daire O'Baoill, Paul Ferry, Joe Joe McDermott and Dylan Mc Croary back from injury for the Shels clash.

Finn Harps: Tommy Lee McCarron, Mark Coyle, Nathan Clifford, Ciaran Kelly, Paul McDermott (Liam Doherty), Oisin Hassett, Simon McGlynn (Ryan Cunningham), Gareth Doherty, BJ Banda, Declan Sharkey, Luke Nelis

Subs not used: Sean Rodgers, Alex Carolan, Jeaic McKelvey, Ryan Finn, Anthony O Hagan.