Donegal hurlers lose out to Kerry

Donegal hurlers lose out to Kerry

Donegal suffered a heavy defeat at the hands of Kerry, in the Bord Gais All-Ireland U-21B quarter-final in Semple Stadium, Thurles on Saturday afternoon.

Kerry 7-22

Donegal 1-4

This was a real step up in class for the All-Ireland C champions who lined out without the injured Sam ‘Roe’ Doherty and Conor O’Donnell.

Aaron McCauley top scored for Donegal with 1-2 while Jack O’Loughlin and Sean Curran got on the scoresheet for Tom Hennessy’s charges.

Kerry had this game wrapped up at half-time as they led 5-11 to 0-2.

They added another 2-11 to their tally in the second half to Donegal’s 1-2.

Michael O'Leary (2), midfielder Philip Lucid, Fionan O'Sullivan and Jordan Conway scored the first half Kerry goals.

Aaron McCauley scored the Donegal goal in the middle of the second half.

McCauley, Jack O'Loughlin and Paul Nelson were Donegal's best players on the day.

All of Kerry's scores came from play.

Kerry will now face Meath, last year's finalists, in the semi-final.

Kerry: S Murphy; F Horgan (0-2), D Shanahan, B Lyons; J Buckley (0-2), J Diggins, K Carmody (0-1); P Lucid (1-6), P O’Connor; J Goulding (0-1), M O’Leary, J Brick (0-1); C Hussey, F O’ Sullivan (1-0), J Conway (3-1).

Subs:D Egan (0-1) for C Hussey; M Flaherty (0-1) for P O’Connor; C Kearney for J Diggins; J Wallace (0-2) for J Brick; D O’Carroll for M O’Leary (2-1).

Donegal: D Laverty; C Griffin, D Og MacLaughlin, C Raimi; Sean Anderson, J O’Loughlin (0-1), E Lynch; S Doherty, J McBride; O Rooney, S Curran (0-1), C Grant; A McCauley (1-1, 1f) P Nelson, C O’Grady.

Subs: D Wilson for E Lynch; D McCarthy for C Raimi; T Clare for S Doherty; M Diver for C Griffin; T Doherty for J McBride.

Referee: P Burke.