Termon girls retain U-14 title


Termon girls retain U-14 title

Termon won the U-14 girls title for the second year in-a-row when they beat a plucky St Eunan's in Convoy on Friday evening.

Termon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6-19

St. Eunan's . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7-6

In a thrilling encounter, some spectators described it as one of the most entertaining games of football they had ever witnessed.

The match was played at a frenetic pace with the first score, a goal, coming

when Orla McLaughlin hammered the ball to the back of the St Eunan’s net after only three minutes. Ciara McGarvey added a point for Termon but St Eunan’s rallied with the impressive Shannon Cunningham scoring a goal and a point to level the scores.

The rest of the half was a case of the teams trading scores. Mya and Emer

Alcorn dominated at midfield for Termon while Laoise Ryan and Ciara O’Donnell were a constant threat for St Eunan's. There was only a point separating the teams at half-time the score being Termon 3-6. St Eunan's 3-5.

The second half continued at the same pace with both teams going on the attack at every opportunity. Two goals in quick succession for St Eunan's from Cunningham and Marie Kelly put them ahead by 6-5 to 3-6 but Termon rallied with Maeve Doherty, Lauren Russell, Sarah Kho and Ciara McElwaine coming to the fore. Aine Gallagher and Aoife Kelly then scored two great individual goals to bring Termon back into it. Termon then upped the ante and dominated the last 15 minutes when they scored a whopping 1-10.

Sinead and Amy McGettigan really impressed while Jodie McFadden and Aibhe McDaid caused all sorts of problems for the St Eunan's rearguard. However all credit to the Cathedral town team who contributed massively to a fantastic display of football. They had great performances all round with Ailisha Tobin, Emma Logue and Sinead McIntyre particularly impressive. However they could find no way past super keeper Orla Corry in the Termon goals.

Termon: Orla Corry; Amy McGettigan, Maeve Doherty, Casey Gallagher, Lauren Russell, Sarah Kho, Sinead McGettigan, Eimear Alcorn, Mya Alcorn, Ciara McGarvey. Ciara McElwaine, Aoife Kelly, Jodie McFadden, Aine Gallagher, Orla McLaughlin. Sub: Aibhe McDaid for Sarah Kho.

St Eunan's: Shannon Doherty; Ailbhe Cannon, Emma Logue, Kim McGrath, Colleen Hume, Sinead McIntyre, Alisha Tobin, Caoimhe Kelly, Aaliyah McCormack, Marie Kealy, Niamh Harkin, Laoise Ryan, Shauna Higgins, Shannon Cunningham, Ciara O’Donnell. Subs: Niamh Walsh for Higgins, Annie McClintock for Marie Kealy.

Referee: Siobhan Coyle (Fanad Gaels).