Big win for St. Michael's in Towney


St. Michael’s put down a marker for their championship clash with a three point win in Towney in the league, thanks to a strong second half performance.

Kilcar . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-13

St. Michael’s . . . . . . 1-16

Both sides were without their county contingent, although Stephen McBrearty did line out for Kilcar, who led by five points midway through the opening half.

The home side started well with a pointed free from Stephen McBrearty and a point from play by Conor Doherty. Michael Langan and McBrearty traded frees before Ciaran McGinley powered through to fire to the roof of the St. Michael’s net. Stephen McBrearty added a free for a 1-4 to 0-2 lead.

A mix up between Eamonn McGinley and Barry Shovlin allowed Daniel McLaughlin in for a soft goal which put St. Michael’s back in the contest on 19 minutes.

Points were traded between Andrew McClean and Kealan McGee and Declan Gallagher and Michael Langan as Kilcar held a 1-7 to 1-5 half-time lead.

Ciaran ‘Rock’ Gallagher and Langan had St. Michael’s level within five minutes of the restart and then a burst from Brian McLaughlin and a Langan free saw the visitors hit the lead for the first time on 40 minutes.

It was a lead that they would not relinquish and McLaughlin increased it to three, 1-12 to 1-9 on 50 minutes.

Kilcar lost Kevin Campbell to a black and red (he had been yellow carded earlier) and despite points from Mickey Hegarty and another McBrearty free, Michael Langan, Brian McLaughlin and Andrew Kelly replied to seal a big win.

Kilcar: Eamonn McGinley; Stephen Shovlin, Conor McShane, Pauric Carr; Andrew McClean (0-1), Barry Shovlin (0-1), Cormac Cannon; Michael Hegarty (0-1), Ciaran McGinley (1-1); Mark Sweeney, Stephen McBrearty (0-7,6f,45), Conor Doherty (0-1); Declan Gallagher (0-1), Dara O’Donnell, Kevin Campbell. Sub., James Cunningham for D Gallagher 55.

St. Michael’s: Ciaran Gallagher; Chris McElhinney (0-1), Michael Gallagher, Oisin Langan; Stephen Doak, Michael McGinley, Daniel McLaughlin (1-1); Ciaran Rock Gallagher (0-1), Michael Langan (0-8,6f); Liam Paul Ferry, Ciaran Kelly, Kealan McGee (0-1); Andrew Kelly (0-1), Brian McLaughlin (0-3), Ryan Langan. Subs., Dean Langan for C Gallagher ht; Ruairi Friel for LP Ferry, Jamie Hunter for R Langan.

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs)