McBride denies Glenswilly win

McBride denies Glenswilly win

Gavin McBride kicked a late equaliser to deny Glenswilly the win in a hard fought league clash at Pairc Naomh Columba on Saturday evening.

Glenswilly . . . . . . . . . . 1-8

Gaoth Dobhair . . . . . . 1-8

It was case of half a loaf is better than no bread in the end for the locals, who are fighting for survival in the top flight.

Glenswilly, who were without the county tied Michael Murphy and Neil Gallagher, looked to have secured the win when Cathal Gallagher stroked over a late ‘45’. But at the death sharpshooter McBride salvaged a draw for Gaoth Dobhair, who were minus their county contingent of Eamonn and Neil McGee, Ciaran Gillespie, Odhrán Mac Niallais and Michael Carroll.

Gaoth Dobhair finished the game with 14 men after Kevin Cassidy picked up a second yellow card in the second half.

A Niall Friel goal in the middle of the first half separated the sides at the break. Glenswilly ‘keeper James Gallagher could only parry a McBride rasper and Friel followed up to find the net and give Gaoth Dobhair a 1-4 to 0-4 half-time lead.

Gary McFadden (3) and Oisin Crawford scored the first half Glenswilly points. Owen Ward (2), Paul Mulligan and McBride registered the first half points for Gaoth Dobhair.

A fisted Christopher McMonagle goal tied up the game on the resumption and Glenswilly twice went two up in the second period through Cathal Gallagher, Oisin Crawford and Kealan McFadden.

But the boot of McBride tied up the game twice before the end and a grandstand finish saw McBride (pictured) hit the late equaliser and Glenswilly left to bemoan the failure to convert a late penalty after Philip O’Donnell was fouled.

Caolan Kelly’s spot kick was well saved by Christopher Sweeney.

Glenswilly: James Gallagher; Paddy McFadden, Eamon Ward, Aidan McDevitt; Oisin Crawford (0-2), Caoimhin Marley, Caolan Kelly; Cathal Gallagher (0-2), Ciaran Bonner; Darren McGinley, Gary McFadden (0-3,3f), Joe Gibbons; Christopher McMonagle (1-0), Kealan McFadden (0-1), Brian Farrelly. Subs: Mark McAteer for P McFadden (black); Philip O’Donnell for C Marley; Ethan Sweeney for K McFadden.

Gaoth Dobhair: Christopher Sweeney; Ciaran Ferry, Jamie Reynolds, Jamie Boyle; Jonathan Harkin, Danny Curran, Cathal Mulligan; Michael McKelvey, Peter McGee; Paul Mulligan (0-1), Noel Kelly, Niall Friel (1-0); Owen Ward (0-2), Gavin McBride (0-5), Kevin Cassidy. Subs: James Carroll for P Mulligan; Christopher McFadden for M McKelvey; Sean Doherty for J Harkin.

Referee: Andrew Mullin (Killybegs).