Donegal-Monaghan facts

Donegal-Monaghan facts

They meet in the Ulster championship for a fourth successive year, with the previous coming in the final. Monaghan won in 2013 and last year, while Donegal won in 2014.

Donegal are bidding to reach the Ulster final for the sixth successive year while Monaghan are seeking a fourth successive performance.


2015: Monaghan 0-11 Donegal 0-10 (Ulster final)

2014: Donegal 0-15 Monaghan 1-9 (Ulster final)

2013: Monaghan 0-13 Donegal 0-7 (Ulster final)

2008: Monaghan 0-16 Donegal 0-15 (Round 2 qualifiers)

2007: Monaghan 2-12 Donegal 1-7 (Round 3 qualifiers)


The last four championship games between Donegal and Monaghan have produced only one goal, scored by Monaghan when they lost the 2014 Ulster final by 0-15 to 1-9.


NFL April 2016 - Castleblayney

Monaghan 1-10 Donegal 1-9

Monaghan: R Beggan; C Walshe (0-01), D Wylie, R Wylie; D Mone, F Kelly, K O’Connell; N McAdam, D Hughes (0-01); V Corey, D Malone, K Hughes; R McAnespie (0-01), D McKenna (1-01), C McManus (0-06, 5f). Subs: T Kerr for Mone (47), O Duffy for Malone (53), C McCarthy for McKenna (59)

Donegal: M A McGinley; P McGrath, N McGee, F McGlynn; R McHugh (0-01), A Thompson (0-01), E McHugh (0-01); M Murphy (0-3,2f,45), O MacNiallais (0-01); R Kavanagh, L McLoone, M McElhinney (1-00), H McFadden, P McBrearty (0-02,1f), M O'Reilly. Subs: C McFadden for E McHugh (53); E McGee for O’Reilly (59); C Toye for McLoone (64); S McBrearty for McElhinney (65); E Doherty for N McGee, bcard (70); M McHugh for H McFadden bcard (74)

Referee: R Hickey (Clare)

Ulster final July 2015 - Clones

Monaghan 0-11 Donegal 0-10

Monaghan: R Beggan; D Mone (0-1), V Corey, R Wylie; C Walshe, F Kelly, K O'Connel (0-1)l; N McAdam, D Hughes; O Duffy (0-1), O Lennon (0-1), K Duffy (0-1); D Malone, K Hughes, C McManus (0-6,4f). Subs: R McAnespie for O Duffy (45), S Gallogly for Malone (53), D Clerkin for Lennon (69).

Donegal: P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; R McHugh, K Lacey (0-1), F McGlynn (0-1); N Gallagher, M McElhinney; C Toye, O MacNiallais, M McHugh; P McBrearty (0-6,4f), M Murph (0-2,2f)y, C McFadden. Subs: M O'Reilly for Toye (32), A Thompson for Lacey (41), D O'Connor for McFadden (52), L McCloone for MacNiallais (68).

Referee: D Coldrick (Meath)

NFL March 2015 - Letterkenny

Donegal 1-4 Monaghan 0-9

DONEGAL: P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; E Doherty; K Lacey, F McGlynn; N Gallagher, O MacNiallais; C Toye, M McHugh, R McHugh; P McBrearty (0-1, free), M Murphy (1-3, 3f), M O’Reilly. Subs: A Thompson for Doherty, M McElhinney for Toye (both h/t); C McFadden for Lacey (36 mins); D McLaughlin for McBrearty, E McHugh for E McGee, both (54 mins); G McFadden for MacNiallais (65 mins).

MONAGHAN: R Beggan (0-1, free); C Boyle, D Wylie, V Corey; D Mone, F Kelly (0-1), K O’Connell; N McAdam, D Hughes; P Finlay (0-4, 4f), D Malone (0-1), R McAnespie; C McManus (0-1, f), K Hughes (0-1), D McKenna. Subs: T Kerr for McManu (black card, 24 mins); O Duffy for McKenna (48 mins); D Clerkin for McAdam 66 mins).

Referee: P Hughes (Armagh).

Ulster final July 2014 - Clones

Donegal 0-15 Monaghan 1-9

Donegal: P Durcan, E McGee, N McGee, F McGlynn, A Thompson (0-01), K Lacey (0-01), P McGrath, N Gallagher, C Toye, R McHugh (0-01), L McLoone, O MacNiallais (0-03), D O’Connor, M Murphy (0-02, 2f), C McFadden (0-04, 4f). Subs: P McBrearty (0-03) for O’Connor, R Kavanagh for Toye, M McElhinney for MacNiallais, D Walsh for McLoone, D Molloy for McFadden

Monaghan: R Beggan (0-02, 1f, 1 ’45), R Wylie, D Wylie, C Walshe, D Mone, V Corey (0-01), F Kelly, D Clerkin, D Hughes, P McKenna, S Gollogly, P Finlay (0-04, 3f), D Malone, K Hughes (0-01), C McManus (0-01). Subs: C McGuinness (1-00) for McKenna, O Duffy for Gollogly, K O’Connell for Kelly, P Donaghy for Malone, G Doogan for Clerkin

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).

NFL March 2014 - Letterkenny

Donegal 2-11 Monaghan 0-14

DONEGAL: Paul Durcan; Karl Lacey, Neil McGee, Ryan McHugh; Frank McGlynn, Leo McLoone, Anthony Thompson; Rory Kavanagh (0-01), Martin McElhinney (0-01); Mark McHugh, Christy Toye, Odhrán Mac Niallais (1-03); Colm McFadden (1-02, 0-1f), Michael Murphy (0-01, 0-01f), Dermot Molloy. Subs: Patrick McBrearty (0-02) for Molloy, Darach O’Connor for Toye, Neil Gallagher for Kavanagh (all 41 mins), Martin O’Reilly for McElhinney (63), Declan Walsh (0-01) for McGlynn (69).

MONAGHAN: Rory Beggan (0-01, 0-01 ‘45’); Ryan Wylie, Drew Wylie, Fintan Kelly (0-01); Colin Walshe, Kieran Hughes, Conor Boyle; Gavin Doogan, Paul Finlay; Thomas Kerr, Chris McGuinness, Padraic Keenan; Dermot Malone, Jack McCarron (0-02, 0-01f), Conor McManus (0-05, 0-03f). Subs: Patrick Donaghy for Kerr (26 mins), Dick Clerkin for Finlay, Karl O’Donnell for Keenan (both half-time), Dessie Mone (0-01) for Boyle (42), Vinny Corey for R Wylie (51).

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

Ulster final July 2013 - Clones

Monaghan 0-13

Donegal 0-7

Monaghan: R Beggan (0-2, 1f, 1 ’45), K Duffy, D Wylie, C Walshe, V Corey, N McAdam, D Mone (0-1), O Lennon, D Hughes (0-1), P Finlay, S Gollogly, D Malone, P Donaghy (0-1), K Hughes (0-3), C McManus (0-3, 3f). Subs: G Doogan for Gollogly, D Clerkin for Doogan, C McGuinness (0-1) for Malone, T Freeman (0-1) for McManus

Donegal: P Durcan, P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee, F McGlynn (0-1), K Lacey, A Thompson, R Kavanagh (0-1), R Bradley, M O’Reilly, L McLoone, M McHugh, P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden (0-4, 4f). Subs: David Walsh for McHugh, N Gallagher for O’Reilly, R Wherity for McLoone, R McHugh (0-1) for Walsh, M McElhinney for Bradley

Referee: D Coldrick (Meath).