Naomh Conaill into final

Gaeltacht finals


Reigning All-Ireland champions, Naomh Conaill, have the chance to retain their title today when they take on An Gaeltacht of Kerry in the decider.

In last night's semi-final they overcame the hosts, Naomh Abán by 1-20 to 2-15.

They were 1-10 to 1-7 up at half-time but Naomh Abán stormed back in the second half and went ahead on 48 minutes but some great points from Dermot Molloy and Seamus Corcoran had Naomh Conaill back in control.

The home side were reduced to 14 as tempers became frayed but Naomh Conaill remained composed with Ethan O'Donnell outstanding, well supported by Cathal Ellis, Brendan McDyer, John O'Malley and Leon Thompson.

In their other games they came from behind in the preliminary game to defeat Belmullet 1-15 to 2-6 before dismissing Wolfe Tones (Meath) 4-23 to 6-8.

fNaomh Conaill scorers: John O'Malley 1-3,2f; Dermot Molloy 0-5,3f; Brendan McDyer, Seamus Corcoran 0-3 each; Cathal Ellis, Eunan Doherty, Ethan O'Donnell, Dara Gallagher (f), Leon Thompson 0-1 each.

They join Na Dunaibh in the finals today with both games live on TG4.