Termon are U-14 champions after seven goal thriller



Termon are celebrating a Donegal U-14 Division One League title following Friday night’s narrow county final victory over Gaoth Dobhair at the Bridge, in Dunfanaghy.

Termon . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2-13

Gaoth Dobhair . . . . . . . . . . . 5-2

Jamie Grant and Kevin McGettigan scored the goals for the champions in a seven goal thriller that saw the victors hanging on at the finish in the face of a second half Gaoth Dobhair comeback.

The winners, despite conceding an early Gaoth Dobhair goal, lay the foundation for the triumph in the opening half hour to lead by nine points at half-time, 1-9 to 1-0.

The Gaoth Dobhair goal was scored in the second minute when the Termon ‘keeper was adjudged to have stepped back into his own goal when saving from Aodhan Ferry.

But with Jamie Grant, who ended the game with 1-6 to his name, and Aaron Gallagher providing the midfield platform and Mark Gallagher, McGettigan and Aaron Reid carving the openings, the scores flowed for the nine point interval lead.

The second half needed a Gaoth Dobhair response. And the boys in green did not let their supporters down.

Jamie Doherty got the ball rolling when he posted 1-1 in the opening minutes of the second period. Aidan Walsh (2) and Eamon McBride added two more goals late on. McBride’s goal three minutes from time reduced the margin to two points.

But Aaron Doherty from the penalty spot on the hour mark restored Termon’s lead back out to five points once more before in the closing seconds Walsh drove home Gaoth Dobhair’s fifth goal.

But alas it was too late as time ran on Gaoth Dobhair’s revival and Termon held on for a famous victory and a third title in three years.

Termon: Emmett McGuire, Mark Toye, Robert McGettigan, Michael Trearty; Jack Alcorn, Martin Steele, Damian Egan; Jamie Grant (1-6), Aaron Gallagher (0-2); Conor Cassidy, Aaron Reid (0-2), Manus O’Donnell (0-1); Lorcan Callaghan, Kevin McGettigan (1-0), Mark Gallagher (0-2). Subs: Oisin Forde for L Callaghan; Daniel Fagan or M O’Donnell.

Gaoth Dobhair: Daithi Roberts; Ronan Heffernan, Cian McEntee, Sean Gallagher; Kyle Doohan, Aidan Walsh (2-0), Sean McGee; Eoin Burke (0-1), Michael Doherty; Finnan Coyle; Odhran Coyle, Can McBride; James Doherty (1-1), Aodhan Ferry (1-0), Ryan Doherty. Subs: Eamonn McBride (1-0) for A Ferry; Peadar Ó Baoill for R Doherty.

Referee: Don Langan (St Michael’s).