Na Rossa put stop to Red Hugh's gallop


Na Rossa put stop to Red Hugh's gallop

Conor McCahill hit three brilliant goals and two points as Na Rossa stopped table toppers Red Hugh’s in their tracks in Dooey on Saturday evening.

Na Rossa . . . . . . . . . . 5-13

Red Hugh’s . . . . . . . . 0-8

Wing forward McCahill was in brilliant form while John Paul McCready, Adam McHugh and Aaron Boyle scored the other goals as Na Rossa dominated from start to finish. The winners led 2-3 to 0-6 at half-time.

Na Rossa: Patrick Hanlon; Jamie McCready, John McDyre, Daniel Melly; Christian Bonner (0-2), Daryl Devenney, Denis O'Donnell; Eugene Molloy (0-1), Donal Trimble; Brian Breslin, John Paul McCready (0-3,2f), Conor McCahill (3-2); Cormac McHugh, Odhran Molloy (0-1), Conor Bonner. Subs: Adam McHugh (1-1) for O Molloy; Conor Melly for D O'Donnell; Peter Gallagher for J McCready; Gerard Breslin (0-3) for B Breslin; Aaron Boyle (1-0) for J P McCready.

Red Hugh’s: Ciaran Kelly; Pauric McMenamin, Shane McGlinchey, Dillon Irwin; Gerard Melaugh, Shane Gallagher, Cathal Doherty; Damien Browne (0-4,3f), Odhran Doherty; Denim Rowan, Colm Melaugh, James Carlin (0-1); David Gallen, Martin Bonner (0-2), Calvin Bradley (0-1). Sub: Shane Gallen for D Rowan.

Referee: Liam McConigley ( Downings).

Movillle win

Moville maintained their unbeaten run with a comfortable win over Pettigo on Saturday evening in Moville.

Moville . . . . . . . . . . . 4-21

Pettigo . . . . . . . . . . . . 3-2

The winners led 2-8 to 0-2 at half-time with man of the match Peter Burke and Michael Barr scoring the goals. Burke and Barr also struck the two second half goals for another two precious league points.

Darren Johnston and Johnny McManus scored the first half points for Pettigo and Johnston, Caolan Colton and Aidan Britton struck the Pettigo goals in the second half as the men from the south of the county stormed back into the game in the middle of the second period.

Moville: Ciaran Bonner; Declan Diver, Enda Faulkner, Pierce Parkinson (0-1); Jack Keys, Seamus Hegarty, Kyle Dougal; Malachy McDermott, Tony McClenaghan (0-2); Danny Murphy - (0-5), Michael Barr (2-1), Ciaran Diver (0-3); Pauric Gillen (0-4), Peter Burke (2-1), Josh Lafferty (0-4). Subs Mark Brown for Malachy McDermott; Declan McDermott for T McCleneghan.

Pettigo: Adam McBarron; Marty McGrath, Enda Baird, Marty Hilley; Johnny McManus (0-1), Paul Robinson, Eoghan Cross; Patrick Carr, David Robinson; Patrick Moss, Dylan McGrath, Darren Johnston (1-1); Caolan Colton (1-0), Adrian Britton (1-0), John McElhone. Sub: Thomas Beaumont for D McGrath.