Joule Donegal International Rally countdown begins 

Joule Donegal International Rally countdown begins 
By Tom Comacksport@donegaldemocrat.comTwitter:@dgldemocrat 

Garry Jennings, last year's winner, will drive the number one car in this year’s Joele Donegal International rally it was confirmed at the weekend following the closing of entries.

Friday was the closing date for next month’s rally and Jennings and his co-driver Rory Kennedy from Letterkenny is among the 151 entrants that will take to the ramp on the first day.

The rally runs for three days, from Friday June 17th to Sunday June 22nd. It is the only three day  rally on the Irish calendar.

“We have a full entry once again and a long reserve list,” said Eamonn McGee, clerk of the course for the rally.

The entry list of 151 also includes, 20 juniors and 20 historics.

“The entry closed on Friday and we are currently going through them and we hope to have the full list early next week.

“But I can tell you all the big names are coming to Donegal once again. Garry Jennings will be in the number one car and Declan Boyle and Donagh Kelly will also be going again this year.

“We also have the new R5 cars in the rally this year with Denis Cronin and Alastair Fisher are the big names in this class.

Joe McGonigle will fly the Donegal flag in the R5 while previous winners in Donegal, Sam and Josh Moffett, will also go in the R5,   

The R5 is the main category in this year’s Clonakilty Irish Tarmac Championship. Alastair Fisher with Gordon Noble alongside him is currently leading this championship.

Last year’s Joele Donegal National section winner, Manus Kelly, will be competing in the International for the first time this season. The Glenswilly man has a new Subaru S12b.

He had his first outing last weekend in Carlow and won.

Another interesting entrant  is Letterkenny driver James Cullen, twice a winner of the Donegal International, who is making a return to the event for the first time in a number of years.

Cullen and Ellen Morgan won Donegal for the first time in 1991, in a Ford Sierra  Cosworth and the Donegal/ Welsh combination won the rally for a second time in 1999. This time in a Subaru Impreza 555 WRC car.

James is taking part in the rally to mark the 25th  anniversary of that first win in 1991. Sadly he will be without Ellen Morgan, who passed away in 2006.

This year’s rally is also a round of the FIA sanctioned Celtic Rally Trophy.