Letterkenny Rovers retain John 'Gorey' Curran Cup


Letterkenny Rovers retain John 'Gorey' Curran Cup

Letterkenny Rovers had to avail of a penalty shoot out to retain then John 'Gorey' Cup against Gweedore Celtic at Ballyare on Saturday evening.

Letterkenny Rovers 0

Gweedore Celtic 0

(Rovers won 4-1 on pens)

Rovers 'keeper Sean Friel was the hero for the winners as he saved two penalties in the shoot-out and then collected the cup.

Rovers' penalty takers were Conor O'Donnell, Eoghan Kelly, Michael Gallagher and Shane Doherty, and with Gweedore only converting one, Doherty's conversion started the celebrations for the Letterkenny side. Michael Roarty was the only Gweedore player to find the net.

Rovers finished the game with ten men, having lost Igor Arriel to a second yellow card, shortly before the end.

In the game itself, chances were few and far between. In extra-time Gweedore hit the crossbar.

Letterkenny Rovers: Sean Friel; Calvin O’Brien (Conor Lynch 90), Ciaran Daffan (Michel Gallagher 57), Eoghan Kelly, James Tourish (Daire Crossan 100); David O’Donnell (Conor O’Donnell 67), Sean Curran, Shane Doherty, Igor Arriel; Dylan Laird (Tarlach O’Boyle 78), Codey Brogan.

Gweedore Celtic: Gavin Sweeney; Liam Wiggins, Conor McCafferty, Daniel McLaughlin, Conor Duggan; Michael Roarty, Neasán Mac Giolla Bhríde, Ciaran McHugh, Michael Coll (Micheél Cutliff 105); Liam McFadden, Kyran Glennon.

Referee: Liam McLaughlin.