Gaoth Dobhair on scoring blitz in Ardara


Gaoth Dobhair remain top of the Division One table following yesterday’s 14 point win over Ardara in a one sided clash in Pearse Park

Gaoth Dobhair . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3-18

Ardara . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-10

Michael Carroll scored 1-6, all from play, in a man of the match at midfield for the winners. Ardara simply had no answer to his power and pace as he dominated the middle of the park from the first whistle to the last.

Naoise O’Baoill and Eoin Ward scored the other Gaoth Dobhair goals and Gavin McBride kicked five points as Gaoth Dobhair sent out another clear signal that they may be finally about to reach their potential.

Gaoth Dobhair, who held county men Eamon McGee and Kieran Gillespie until half-time, led by 12 points at the interval thanks to two early goals from Naoise O’Baoill and Eoin Ward.

O’Baoill raised the first green flag on seven minutes as Gaoth Dobhair led 1-6 to 0-0 and Ward added the second shortly after.

Jimmy O’Connell hit the Ardara goal as Gaoth Dobhair led 2-7 to 1-0 at the end of the first quarter hour. And the game as a contest was as good as over at half-time as Gaoth Dobhair went in 2-11 to 1-2 in front.

Ardara improved their strike rate thanks to Brendan McNelis and Gareth Concarr but there was no way back for the locals long before Carroll struck for goal number three.

Gaoth Dobhair: Christopher Sweeney; Gary McFadden, Jamie Reynolds, Christopher McFadden; Paul Mulligan, Neil McGee, Cian Mulligan (0-1); Peter McGee, Michael Carroll (1-6); Naoise O’ Baoill (1-0), Odhran MacNiallais (0-2), Daire O’Baoill (0-1); Eoin Ward (1-3), Gavin McBride (0-5,2f), Kevin Cassidy. Subs: Kieran Gillespie for P Mulligan, Eamon McGee for C McFadden (both at h/t); Kieran Ferry for J Reynolds; Noel Kelly for K Cassidy; Michael McKelvey for P McGee.

Ardara: Cathal Gallagher; Joe Melly, Nicholas Breslin, Kevin Breslin; Johnny Herron, Paddy McGrath, Kevin Herron (0-1); Jimmy O’Connell (1-1), Brendan McNelis (0-3,3f); Nicholas Maguire, Ryan Mailey (0-1), Jack Brennan; Gareth Concarr (0-3), C J Molloy, Tomás Boyle (0-1). Subs: Kieran Breslin for K Breslin; Oisin O’Donnell for K Herron.

Referee: Mark Dorrian (Fanad Gaels).