Na Rossa win in Castlefin


Na Rossa win in Castlefin

John Paul McCready kicked a late controversial point as Na Rossa got the new season off to a good start with a narrow win over Robert Emmetts in Castlefin on Saturday evening.

Na Rossa 0-8

Robert Emmett’s 1-4

Robert Emmett’s led 1-2 to 0-3 at half-time. John Hunter scored the goal for the locals who dominated most of the game. McCready, who was only introduced at half-time, kicked four of the winners second half points to secure the win.

Robert Emmett's: M McMenamin; J Tourish, P Dooher, K McConnell; M Curran, B Dooher, S Dooher; C Bryson,T McCusker (0-1); G McNulty, (0-2),A Mc Connell, S Coyle (0-1); A Holmes, J Hunter (1-0); R Kennedy. Sub: J McLaughlin, R McGirr.

Na Rossa: P J Hanlon; J McCready, J McDyer, D M Melly (0-1); C Bonner(0-1), D D Devenney, C Melly; E Molloy, D Trimble; C McCahill, O Molloy,(0-1), A McHugh(0-1), A Boyle,C bonner, C McHugh. Sub: J P McCready (0-4).

Referee: Michael McShane (Kilcar).

Late Catterson goal nets points

Conor Catterson scored a late goal as Naomh Padraig snatched the win over St Mary’s, in Convoy, on Saturday evening.

St Mary’s (Convoy) 2-8

N. Padraig (Lifford) 1-12

Anthony Browne scored the St Mary’s two goals, one in each half. In a closely contested encounter Peter Blake and Michael Ayton edged the locals two ahead with time almost up only for Catterson to dash hopes of the league points with his injury time strike.

St Mary’s: C Cairns; K Gillen, S Browne, M Patton; L . Prunty, J. Kee (0-1), E Patterson; R McNamee, M Kelly; M Ayton (0-1), P Blake (0-2), B Bonner; G Gillen, A. Browne (2-3) K Bonner. Subs : P O’Leary, R Donnellan, E Kelly, A Bogle.

Naomh Padraig: P Given; M Ferry, M McHugh, P McNamee; C Doherty (0-2), J Quinn, K Lynch; P Lynch (0-1 ), J McNulty(0-1); D Gethins, D Gillispie(0-4), J Mahon (0-1), C Catterson (1-0), K McBrearty 0-3

Good win for Carn

Carndonagh made the long trip to Pettigo a winning one with a big win over Pettigo, in this Division Four game.

Carndonagh 1-21

Pettigo 0-7

Fergal Doherty scored the goal for the Inishowen men and along with Richard Cunningham, Matthew McLaughlin, Aaron McCarron and Paddy Nelson scored the points for the winners.

Carndonagh: Darragh O'Neill; Michael Nelson, Ryan Davenport, Danny Monagle; James Monagle, Dermot McGonagle, Cathal Kelly; Dominic Doherty, Ryan Kelly; Paddy McCallion, Richard, Cunningham, Paddy Nelson, Aaron McCarron, Feargal Doherty, Matthew McLaughlin. Subs used: Darragh McLaughlin, Eoghan Kelly, Nathan McLarkey, Thomas O'Sullivan.