St Eunan's beat Deele to win Ulster title

St Eunan's beat Deele to win Ulster title

St Eunan's College under-17 soccer team were crowned Bank of Ireland FAI Schools' champions on Tuesday afternoon after a convincing victory over Deele College.

St. Eunan's College 6

Deele College 2

The Letterkenny students were guided to success by their talented skipper, Shane Blaney, who chalked up a hat-trick during a most impressive 90 minutes.

Shane Doherty, Patrick McColgan and Ryan O'Donnell also got in on the goal rush at the famous Flagpole Park.

Blaney broke the deadlock on 41 minutes from a free kick. Shortly after the restart, he notched his second from the penalty spot.

Deele replied with a Bryan McNamee strike on the hour, but Eunan's hit the turbo button thereafter and were 4-1 up as the game entered the final quarter, thanks to goals from Patrick McColgan and Shane Doherty.

Jordan Boyce's neatly struck effort past Eoin O’Boyle saw the deficit reduced to two, but substitute Ryan O'Donnell edged it out to three again with a tap- in.

Fittingly, Shane Blaney had the final say when he showed all his class when breaking on the counter and lobbed the outcoming Gibson for his third, and best, goal of the afternoon.

St Eunan's College: Eoin O’Boyle, Jerome Angel Atahuene (Shane McDevitt 81), Patrick McColgan, Eoghan Kelly, Peter McEniff, Conor O’Donnell, Shane Blaney, Shaun Curran (Tarlach O’Boyle 77), Michael Gallagher (Oisin Purdy 83) Zach Gorman (Ryan O’Donnell 75), Shane Doherty (James Tourish 88).

Deele College: Kenan Gibson, Ryan Higgins, Keelan Kelly, Bryan McNamee, Daniel Lindsay, Ethan Coll, Dylan Brolly, Jordan Boyce, Justin McGee (Jack O’Donnell 66), Codey Brogan, Alex Carolan.

Referee: Vincent McLoughlin.