Donegal's Sigerson Cup winners

Donegal's Sigerson Cup winners

Brendan Dunleavy from Sean MacCumhaill’s and a former Donegal player leads the roll of honour in the Donegal winners with four Sigerson Cup winners’ medal. Brendan’s winning years were 1975,’77,’78 and ‘79.

Jim McGuinness is next with three, two with Tralee IT and one with UUJ and Jim also holds the distinction of captaining two Sigerson winning sides with two different Colleges.

Christy Toye is the only other Donegal man to captain a Sigerson winning when he led IT Sligo to the 2005 Sigerson title.

Christy led a long list of double winners which includes John O'Donnell, Antoin Rodgers, Paul Kelly, Brendan Boyle, Paul Durcan, Eamon McGee, Kevin Cassidy, Paul Carr and Michael Boyle.

John O’Donnell from Dungloe was the county’s first Sigerson winner in 1931.

1931 & 1932: John O'Donnell, Dungloe (UCD)

1948/'49: Antoin Rodgers, Gaoth Dobhair (UCD)

1954: Colm Toland, Inishowen (UCD)

1959 & 1961: Paul Kelly, Cloughaneely (UCD)

1961: Bernard Brady, Bundoran (UCD)

1963: John Bonner, Dungloe;

Tony McDevitt, Letterkenny (UCG)

1968: Jim McElwee, Dungloe;

Antoin Carroll, Gaoth Dobhair (UCD)

1975: Brendan Dunleavy, Sean MacCumhaills;

Finian Ward, Naomh Columba (UCD)

Brendan Dunleavy was also a winner

in 1977,'78 and '79.

1983 & 1984: Paul Carr, St Eunan's (UCG)

1992: Sylvester Maguire and

Diarmaid Keon, Aodh Ruadh (UCG)

1998: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Tralee IT)

1999: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Captain);

Eamon Reddan, Muff (Tralee IT)

2000: Paddy Campbell, Naomh Conaill;

Barry Ward, Aodh Ruadh (QUB)

2001: Jim McGuinness, Naomh Conaill (Captain) (UUJ)

2002: Brendan Boyle, Ardara;

Gareth Blake, Aodh Ruadh (IT Sligo)

2003: Colm McFadden, St Michael’s (UCG)

2004: Paul Durcan, Four Masters;

Neil McGee, Gaoth Dobhair; Eamonn McGee,

Gaoth Dobhair; Kevin Cassidy, Gaoth Dobhair;

Brendan Boyle, Ardara;

Christy Toye, St Michael's (IT Sligo)

2005: Paul Durcan, Four Masters;

Eamon McGee, Gaoth Dobhair;

Christy Toye, St Michael's (Captain);

Michael Doherty, Four Masters;

Donnacha Gallagher, Carndonagh (IT Sligo)

2008: Karl Lacey and

Barry Dunnion, Four Masters (UUJ)

2010: Michael Boyle, Termon (DCU)

2012: Michael Boyle, Termon; Antoin McFadden,

St Michael's; Michael Murphy, Glenswilly (DCU).