Brennan enables Erne to make flying start in Donegal Youth League

Brennan enables Erne to make flying start in Donegal Youth League
Erne Wanderers’ Jamie Brennan began the Donegal Youth League with a band as he bagged all four goals as his side beat Castlefin Celtic 4-1.

Erne Wanderers’ Jamie Brennan began the Donegal Youth League with a band as he bagged all four goals as his side beat Castlefin Celtic 4-1.

Last year’s league winners Letterkenny Rovers had a comfortable victory over Ballybofey United away from home, while Gweedore United defeated Lifford Celtic.

A late goal gave Fanad United all three points against Keadue Rovers and Cappry Rovers and Bonagee United played out a scoreless draw.

Gweedore United 4

Lifford Celtic 1

Gweedore United started the season on the right foot with a fine 4-1 home win over Lifford Celtic.

The influential Kieran Gillespie who broke the deadlock for the home side in the 29th minute when he finished well from six yards following a good ball from Gary McFadden.

The neat football continued and in the 42nd minute and McFadden made it 2-0, this time the pass provided by Daire Ó Baoill in a move started by Ryan Kelly.

United’s Ciaran McGeady made it 3-0 in the 56th minute with an excellent shot from 25 yards. Good play from Lifford paid off in the 62nd minute when the visitors pulled one back when a free kick from Ollie Quinn fell to Cian Patton.

The home side made it 4-1 in the 75th minute when a good ball played to Daniel Sharkey from Kieran Gillespie was well and finished by Sharkey past Ryan Bradley.

Gweedore United: Charles John Doherty, Adam Ryan, Ryan Kelly, Kieran Gillespie, Kyle McFadden, Gavin McBride, Daniel Sharkey, Gary McFadden, Dáire O’Baoill, James O’Baoill,Cieran McGeady. Subs: Conor McFadden.

Lifford Celtic: Ryan Bradley, Michael Ayton, Ryan Porter, Mark Boyle, Oliver Quinn, Niall Brennan, Travis Lafferty, Jack Mahon, Dane Kelly, Matthew Catterson, Eoin McCafferty. Subs: Michael Quinn, Cian Patton, Shay Donnelly. Referee: Mick Lagan

Ballybofey United 1

Letterkenny Rovers 6

Letterkenny Rovers recorded a 6-1 victory over Ballybofey United last Wednesday night in the opening night of this season’s Donegal Youth League.

Rovers took an early lead through influential midfielder David Tyrrell in the fifth minute and they increased their lead 10 minutes later when full back Conor Coll’s cross-cum shot sailed into the Ballybofey net.

Just before half time Gavin McDaid made it 3-0 with a crisp strike from 15 yards out. Ballybofey upped their game in the opening stages of the second half and they got a goal back in the 60 minutes for an excellent strike from Marty Meadows.

In the last 15 minutes of the game, Rovers who made a number of substitutions scored three unanswered goals from Marty Vance and substitute Ryan McLoughlin helped himself to a brace of goals.

Ballybofey United: Conor Griffin, Kyle Doherty, Mikey Grant, Niall McCloskey, Gavin Doherty, Sean Duffy, Marty Meadows, Lorcan Glackin, Daniel McGlinchey, Ronan McMemamin. Subs: Dara McGee, Gavin Grant, Aaron McAuley, Gerard Bonner, Barry McGowan, Ryan McGirr, Paul Clarke.

Letterkenny Rovers: Chris O’Donnell, Conor Coll, Noah Mailey, Liam Blaney, Jack Blake, David Tyrrell, Peader Cunningham, Gareth Doherty, Marty Vance, Gavin McDaid, Kevin O’Donnell. Subs: Adrian Delap, Mo Friel, Cieran Kelly, Ryan McLoughlin.

Referee: Stephen Toner

Castlefin Celtic 1

Erne Wanderers 4

Erne Wanderers got their Donegal Youth League Campaign off to the best possible start thanks to this victory over newcomers Castlefin Celtic with all four goals coming from the boot of Jamie Brennan.

Erne raced into a fifth minute lead with Brennan scoring from close range after a goalmouth scramble. Castlefin had just settled into the game when Brennan sprung the offside trap to lob home keeper O’Hagan in the 20th minute.

Ten minutes later it was three when the same player found the bottom corner from just inside the box. Erne ended the game as a contest in the 64th minute when Brennan planted a 25-yard free-kick firmly in the back of the Castlefin net. The Finn Valley boys kept plugging away and were rewarded in the 76th minute when Stephen Long scored from the spot after Eoin Catterson was upended in the box.

Referee: Ronan Floyd.


Dick Duffy Memorial Youth League

Ballybofey United 1-6 Letterkenny Rovers

Gweedore United 4-1 Lifford Celtic

Cappry Rovers 0-0 Bonagee United

Keadue Rovers 2-3 Fanad United

Castlefin Celtic 1-4 Erne Wanderers


Dick Duffy Memorial Youth League:

Tuesday, 7:30pm

Fanad United v Gweedore United, Kevin Logue

Wednesday, 7:30pm

Letterkenny Rovers v Cappry Rovers, Marty McGarrigle

Saturday, 2pm

Lifford Celtic v Castlefin Celtic, Vincent McLoughlin

Gweedore Celtic v Ballybofey United, Con McLaughlin

Saturday, TBC

U-17 Umbro FAI Cup

Ballymote (Sligo) v Keadue Rovers