Division Four round-up

THE season got underway in the All-County League Division four as the teams involved blew off the cobwebs of winter.

THE season got underway in the All-County League Division four as the teams involved blew off the cobwebs of winter.

Naomh Ultan 4-7

Naomh Padraig Leifear 2-13

There was a share of the spoils at Pairc Naomh Ultan in Dunkineely.

The hosts got the ball into their danger men and Alan Lyons calmly slotted the ball home after some great play. Then, Colin McNicholas passed the ball into the back of the net to make it 2-2 to 0-3 but the teams went in level at the break, 2-3 to 1-6 with the away side’s goal coming from Shane Meehan.

Naomh Padraig went in front thanks to a goal from Declan Lafferty before Naomh Ultan hit the back of the net when Aiden Duddy who made no mistake. Three points down, Naomh Ultan managed to get back into the game when sub Aaron Byrne was fouled - a penalty for Naomh Ultan in what had to be the last kick of the game. Captain Duddy stepped up and drilled the ball down the middle to share the spoils.

Naomh Ultan: Daniel McGlynn; Paul Gallier, Allaistar Rodger, Emmet Kennedy; Jonathan Cassidy, Declan Murrin, Danny Shovlin; Martin Shovlin Jnr, Sean Blain; Cian Kennedy (0-2), Dermot Gallier (0-2), Damien Quigley; Alan Lyons (1-2), Aiden Duddy (2-0), Colin McNicholas (1-1). Subs: Donal Murrin for Jonathan Cassidy, Aaron Byrne for Emmet Kennedy, Sean Furey for Cian Kennedy.

Naomh Padraig, Leifear: Paul Given; Mickey McBrearty, Paul Lynch, Damien Tourish; Patrick McNamee, Gary McGirr (0-8), Darren Gillespie (0-2); Emmet Catterson, Conor Catterson; Declan Lafferty (1-0), Shane Gallagher, Shane Breslin; Shane Meehan (1-2), Johnny Mahon, Brian Breslin (0-1). Subs: Kevin McBrearty for Tourish, Daniel McNulty for M McBrearty.

Letterkenny Gaels 0-9

Na Rossa 0-9

Letterkenny Gaels hit five points unanswered points in the final 10 minutes to earn a draw against Na Rossa on Saturday evening.

John Paul McCready helped Na Rossa to a 0-5 to 0-3 half-time lead with four first half points, while Tommy Brennan scored the other point for Na Rossa. Conor McBrearty, with two points, and a Ciaran Lynch point was the response from Gaels. Patick Melly’s three second half points put Na Rossa in control, while Ryan Hennessy got a point too when the Gaels only response was from Aaron Bradley. The home team fought back with points from Bradley, Tom McIntyre, Oisin Cannon and Conor McBrearty, with McBrearty hitting over deep in injury time to equalise.

Letterkenny Gaels: Ethan Mulrennan; Eoin Kelly, Tommy Daly, Aaron Stewart; Ciaran Lynch (0-1), Colm O’Breslin, John Doran; Mickey Harte, Gerard Gibbons; Oisín Cannon (0-1), Aaron Bradley (0-2), Charlie Creevy; Conor McBrearty (0-4), Ciaran Cannon, Cillian Skinnader. Subs: Tom McIntyre (0-1) for John Doran, Darren Hunter for Charlie Creevy, Rory Kavanagh for Cillian Skinnader.

Na Rossa: James Bonner; Ryan McCready, Danny O’Donnell, James McCready; Daryl Devenney, Sean McCready, Brian Breslin; Eoin Molloy, Sean Paul Breslin; Patrick Hanlon, Ryan Hennessey (0-1), John Paul McCready; (0-4), Patrick Melly (0-3),Tommy Brennan (0-1), Odhran Gallagher.

St Mary’s, Convoy 1-11

Robert Emmets 2-8

Neighbours St Mary’s from Convoy and Robert Emmets shared the spoils in an entertaining match on Saturday evening.

The home side got off to a great start when Anthony Browne scored a goal but the Castlefin outfit got back into the game when Jonathan McLaughlin pointed and Niall McConnell netted. And when Michael Lafferty grabbed a goal and a point, it was the visitors who were in a good position. It was level pegging at half-time, St Mary’s 1-7 to Robert Emmet’s 2-4

The hosts started the second half well, hitting five successive points but Robert Emmets refused to lie down and late points from McLaughlin and Sean Coyle levelled things up.

St Mary’s Convoy: Conor Cairns; Sean Allan, Michael Kelly, Sean Browne; John Doherty (0-1), Patrick Mailey(0-1), Conor McNamee; Raymond Mc Namee(0-1), Thomas Mc Hugh(0-1); Emmett Patterson, Lawerance Mc Mullan(0-1), Anthony Browne(1-3), Ryan Kettle (0-2),John A Kee, Peter Blake (0-1).

Robert Emmets: Simon McMenamin, Patrick Dooher, Dean McBreathy, Damian McAlwane, Brian Dooher, Conor McConnell, Sean Coyle (0-1), Brian Harvey, Christopher Bryson, Jonathan Mc Laughlin (0-3), Dominic McGlinchey, Paul Mc Cauley, Darren Larkin, Niall McConnell (1-1), Michael Lafferty (1-2). Subs: Mark Lafferty (0-1), Adam McConnell.

Moville 1-13

Milford 1-10

Moville got their season off to winning ways thanks to a home win over Milford on Saturday night.

The home side got in front midway through the first half when John McGeady, when he fisted home. Moville were in a strong position at the break, 1-8 to 0-4 in front, with the wind at their backs. Milford dominated the second half and came back to within a point when Kevin McGee netted but Moville finished well with John Faulkner keeping his frees firing over on a consistent basis and Malachy McDermott scoring from the sideline.

Moville: Maurice McGeady; Niall Cavanagh, Michael Brendan Doherty, Brendan Diver; Jack Keyes, Seamus Hegarty, Sean Diver; Malachy McDermott (0-4), Danny Murphy (0-2); James Henry, John Faulkner (0-6), Sean Doherty; Ryan McDermott, John McGeady (1-1), Joe McBride. Subs: Eunan Hegarty for B Diver, Odhran McDermott for J McBride.

Milford: Sean Gallagher; Mark Farren, Barry McNulty, Cormac Friel; Enda McHugh, Paddy Peoples, Dean Burgess; Luke Barrett, Lorcan Friel; Sean Black, Bhristopher Barrett, Caolan McGettigan; David Curley, Kevin McGee, Cathal McGettigan. sub: Kyle Black for Dean Burgess.