Ardara win Co. U-14 League with some ease

Ardara  win Co. U-14 League with some ease
Ardara bridged a six year gap with Friday night’s County U-14 Division One League final victory over Bundoran on the old pitch at Fintra, Killybegs.

Ardara bridged a six year gap with Friday night’s County U-14 Division One League final victory over Bundoran on the old pitch at Fintra, Killybegs.

Ardara 5-22

Bundoran 1-3

On a wet and damp night that was far from conducive to good football the winners served up top class fare with all of their scores from play an from 11 different scorers.

Man of the match Johnny Sweeney with 0-7 and first half substitute Niall McCrossan with 2-1 were Ardara’s top scorers.

Ultan Brennan, Declan Boyle, Robbie Adair, Oisin Brennan 1-3, Owen Harkin 0-1, Patrick Gallagher 0-3, Adam McShane 1-0, Bryan White and Danny Walsh 0-1 each all got their names on the scoresheet.

Cian McEniff with 1-1 and Oran Gallager 0-2, were the Bundoran marksmen with all their scores posted in the first half.

Ardara settled better to the conditions and powered by Ultan Brennan and Patrick Gallagher at midfield and despite conceding an early goal when Cian McEniff drove past Reece Furey Brogan from close range, the winners took the initiative.

They led 0-7 to 1-0 by the end of the first quarter with Sweeney, Oisin Brennan (2), Ultan Brennan, Robbie Adair and Owen Harkin all rasing white flags, before Oran Gallagher raised Bundoran’s first white flag.

That was on 16 minutes but with the momentum with boys from the south west they added five more points to Bundoran’s two before the break to lead 0-12 to 1-3 . Johnny Sweeney (2), Ultan Brennan, Patrick Gallagher and Oisin Brennan one each the Ardara scorers with McEniff and Gallagher responding for Bundoran.

Three quick Ardara points followed by the first of their five second half goals inside the opening four minutes of the second period ended the game as a contest. Adam McShane, all the way up from corner back, got on the end of sweeping move to hit the Bundoran net.

It was all Ardara for the remainder of the half as Niall McCrossan (2), Oisin Brennan and captain Bryan Whyte all found the net, as they swept to a comfortable victory and a third U-14 league crown to add to those won in 2002 and ‘07.

Ardara: Reece Furey Brogan; Conor Weir, Brian Whte, Adam McShane (1-0); Sean Sweeney, Danny Walsh (0-1), Gerard McHugh; Ultan Brennan (0-3), Patrick Gallagher (0-3); Johnny Seeney (0-7), Owen Harkin (0-2), Colin Breslin; Oisin Brennan (1-2), Declan Boyle (0-1), Robbie Adair (0-1). Subs: Niall McCrossan (2-1) for D Boyle; Joe Gallagher for C Weir; Darragh O’Donnell for C Breslin ; Aaron McHugh for R Adair; Cailum Melly for O Harkin.

Bundoran:Conor Jack McManus; Michael McGloin, James Stewart, Oisin McGloin; Matthew Duffy, Brian Henry, Conor McGlone; Paul Murphy, Jacob Machinuik; Adam Gallagher, Cody McGranaghan, Oisin Walsh; Oran Gallagher (0-2), Cian McEniff (1-1), Cody Gallagher. Subs: Karl Barrett for C McGranaghan; Jack Delaney for P Murphy (inj); Chris Conway for O Walsh; Michael McCaughey for A Gallagher.

Referee: Gabriel O’Donnell (Four Masters).


With traffic congestion holding up throw-in time in Letterkenny on Friday evening the well-matched footballers of Naomh Ultan and Moville were gridlocked at the conclusion at O’Donnell Park.

Naomh Ultan 1-7

Moville 1-7

Extra-time was not played on the grounds of safety as darkness was already setting in. But both teams will be content enough to have a second chance.

Naomh Ultan had played themselves into a good position at half-time, leading 1-4 to 0-3. Gareth Foynes had opened the scoring the Inishowen team before Darragh Murrin scored two frees either side of a Sean White point.

Kyle Harkin of Moville and Murrin traded scores before a Shawn Dobbin goal put Naomh Ultan five points in front. Patrick Faulkner pulled one back for Moville, who also had a scare when Darragh Byrne ratrled the crossbar.

Cathal McLaughlin and Faulkner scored at the start of the second half but Murrin ensured Naomh Ultan’s advantage remained intact.

McLaughlin, though, scored an excellent solo goal to bring Moville right back into the match at 1-5 apiece.

And when Harkin added two scores, it looked like the cup was on its way to the peninsula. However, brave Naomh Ultan fought back and Darragh Byrne and Murrin pointed late to ensure a draw.

Naomh Ultan: Dylan Baskin; Seanie O’Shea, Darragh Byrne (0-1), Lee Breslin; Anthony O’Shea, Barry Breslin, Mathieu Dupuy;Kevin McGuinness, Jordan Watters; Dylan Henry, Jason Dobbyn, Christopher Boyle; Darragh Murrin (0-5, 3f), Shawn Dobbyn (1-0), Sean White (0-1). Sub: Charlie Blain for O’Shea (55)

Moville: Ryan Coyle; James Kelly, Pauric Doherty, Keith Craig; Pauric Parkinson, Padhraic Skelly, Casey Brown; Cathal McLaughlin, Eoin Gillen; Pearse Doherty (1-0), Patrick Faulkner (0-2, 1f), Gareth Foynes (0-2); Kyle Harkin (0-3), Dempsey Holwel, Conor McDaid. Subs: Conal Doogan for Kelly (half-time), Art Parkinson for McDaid (34).

Referee: Enda McFeely (Robert Emmet’s)