Sean MacCumhaill’s win Northern U-14 title

Sean MacCumhaill’s win Northern U-14 title
SEAN MACCUMHAILL’S defeated St Eunan’s in an entertaining U-14 Northern Division final in Killygordon on Friday night.

SEAN MACCUMHAILL’S defeated St Eunan’s in an entertaining U-14 Northern Division final in Killygordon on Friday night.

Sean Mac Cumhaill’s 2-9

St Eunan’s 3-4

MacCumhaill’s had suffered a heavy defeat to the Letterkenny team in May the league final in Convoy. However the stakes were much higher on Friday, as this was the Championship and a bigger prize was up for grabs.

MacCumhaill’s registered the first score of the game with a point by Ryan Finn and were desperately unlucky not to have scored three goals in the opening minutes.

MacCumhaill’s were dominant at this stage of the game, but on the 11th minute St Eunans scored a goal. This was replied to with two points from Oisin Gallen and a long range point from Fintan Griffin.

St Eunan’s struck 2-1 by the 26th minute, which left them six points ahead and it was looking as if history was going to repeat itself. Ryan Finn then scored a point from a free and Reece McGahern rattled the St Eunans net with a goal on the stroke of half-time which then left it a two-point game. T he first half ended Sean MacCumhaill’s 1-6 St Eunans 3–1.

The second half started with a point from Ryan Finn and St Eunans then replied with two points. The tempo of the game increased. Ryan Finn then unleashed a high dropping ball into the St Eunans goalmouth and it ended in the net. This brought the game level.

St Eunan’s found it difficult to contain MacCumhaills as they cut through their defence. Chad MacSorley added two more points that left MacCumhaill’s two points ahead and a further point was added by Ryan Finn.

St. Eunans did not register a score for the next 17 minutes. Minutes before full time St Eunans were awarded a free in front of goals. They struck for goal but Jamie Bell made a brilliant save and put it over for a point. The full time whistle blew and Mac Cumhaills were victorious.

This was an outstanding display by each player on the Sean MacCumhaills team. Conor Lillis accepted the cup on behalf of the players and Ryan Finn received man of the match award.

Sean MacCumhaill’s: Jamie Bell; Rory Mulligan, Christopher Gallaghe, Adam Burke; Joe Boyle, Ryan Finn, Issac McLoughlin; Fintan Griffin, Chad McSorley; Austin Duignam, Luke Gavigan, Rory Mulligan; Oisin Gallen, Conor Lillis, Jamie Keegan Subs: Ben Byrne, Calum Bonar, Kieran Barron Joey Lafferty, Anthony Gallagher, Ryan Galllagher Shea Logue Karl Doherty.

Management: Anthony Gallagher, Eamonn Griffin, Paul Finn, John Lillis