Reserve Championship building to a conclusion

Six teams are through to the quarter-finals of the Reserve Championship after the weekend series of matches on Saturday evening.

Six teams are through to the quarter-finals of the Reserve Championship after the weekend series of matches on Saturday evening.

St. Eunan’s, Naomh Conaill, Ardara, Four Masters, St. Michael’s and Kilcar have booked their places.


St Eunan’s 1-6

Naomh Conaill 1-7

Naomh Conaill finished top of the Radio na Gaeltachta RFC group 1, after they defeated St Eunan’s by one point in O’Donnell Park.

A first half goal from Mark Gallagher put the Glenties side in control, but a late goal from Eunan Diver set up a close finish.

St Eunan’s: J Carr, C Flood, A McClafferty, C O’Boyle, C Roache, J Bradley, D McMonagle (0-1), A Doherty, J McBride, C Harley (0-1), P.Rafferty(0-1), B McDermott, C Keavney (0-1, 1f), E Blake, E Diver (1-1). Subs: E Sullivan (0-1) for McClafferty, B McGeehin for McDermott.

Naomh Conaill; J O’Donnell, S Campbell, C McHugh, M Gallagher, K McGettigan (0-2), D Bonner, H Gallagher, M Regan, A McGeehin (0-1), J Gallagher, M O’Malley, S Ellis (0-1), J Doherty (0-1), M Gallagher (1-1), J Kennedy (0-1, 1f). Subs: C Molloy for J Gallagher, J Gallagher for Doherty, S Molloy for Campbell


Four Masters 2-14


Four Masters had little fuss in getting th better of Glenfin on Saturday evening in Donegal Town.

Darren Doherty scored a goal in either half for the home team, The half-time score 1-11 to 0-2. The win means that Four Masters finished the group in second place behind Ardara.

Four Masters: Sean Martin; Enda Bonner, Damien Cassidy, Barry O’Donnell (0-1); Daire Quinn (0-1), Leo McHugh (0-1), Pauric Harvey; Charlie Gallagher, Ciaran Cassidy; Dillon Muldoon (0-4), Gareth Britton, Emmett Doogan (0-1); Brendan Cassidy (0-4), Darren Doherty (2-0), Gary McGinty (0-2). Sub used: Declan Bushell.

Glenfin: Ryan Dorrian; Shane McGinty, Finian McGlinchey, Martin O’ Donnell; Damian Doherty, Stephen Dorrian, Paul McGlynn; Barry McMonagle, Luke Keane; Ross McDermott (0-2), Packie Moy, Jason Marley; Ethan O’Donnell (0-1), PJ Scanlon (0-1), Ronan Carlin (0-1).

Referee: Enda Mc Feely (Robert Emmets)

Killybegs 1-05

Termon 0-08

Paul Cunningham struck late in the second half for Killybegs to get a share of the spoils in this Senior Reserve Group 3 Championship match played in McDevitt Park Killybegs on Saturday evening. However, it was a score they had been threatening to get as they opened up the Termon rearguard on numerous occasions.

Despite playing in a strong breeze, both teams tried their best to play good football and it would probably have been unfair on either team to have lost.

Termon: Connor Tinney; Damien Nelis, J.R. McDaid, Alan Dugera; Barry Nelis, Thomas Cullen, Darren Toland; Gavin Gorman, Mark O’Donnell; Conor Murray, Martin Sweeney (0-2), Darragh Gallen; Connor Gallen (0-4), Joe English (0-2), Liam McBride. Subs: Caolan Mellett, Charles Gallagher, Michael Gallagher, Hugh Harkin.

Killybegs: J O’Sullivan; E Bonner, B Byrne, C Cunningham (0-1); G Boyle, A O’Hara (0-1,f), N Carbery; C Cunningham, S Conaghan; L Kelly, R Dunne, P McFadden (0-1); D Maguire (0-2), P Cunningham (1-0), D McGuinness. Sub., G McCabe.

Bundoran 1-5

Kilcar 1-13

Bundoran had the first score, a goal from Stephen Curneen, but Kilcar replied with Declan Gallagher finding the net and by half-time they were 1-9 to 1-2 ahead.

The second half was a poor affair but Kilcar always kept their noses in front to win easily.

Bundoran: J Keenan; D Smyth, A Mullarkey, R Walsh; P Rooney, B McGowan, B James; N Murphy, N McGonigle; R Morris, S Curneen (1-1), D O’Keeffe (0-2); M Ward (0-2,1f), D Spratt, J McNulty. Subs., G Hegarty, P McGee, J Morris, R Gillespie.

Kilcar: K Boyle; L Carr (0-1), D McCloskey, C Cunningham; C Cannon (0-1), J Cunningham, A McClean; C Gilmore, C Cunningham; L Doherty, G McBrearty (0-2), C Doogan (0-1); D O’Donnell (0-2), N Kennedy, D Gallagher (1-6,5f). Subs., R McGinley for J Cunningham; K Lowther for C Doogan.

Referee: R Shovlin (Naomh Ultan).

St Michaels 1-8

Glenswilly 1-4

A late St Michaels goal saw off a spirited come back from Glenswilly in the reserve championship at the Bridge.

St Michaels looked in control through the tie. With just minutes on the clock they had a 0-8 to 0-4 lead until Glenswilly hit the net to make it a one point game. They pushed hard until in the dying minute the home side returned the favour in a game that saw a number of red cards produced in an often fraught encounter.

St Michaels: Josie Gallagher, Stephen Horan, Neil Toye, Hugh McGee, Paul Kramer, Chris McElhinney, John McFadden, Lorcan McDaid, Paul Baird, Caolan McGee, Barry McGinley, Stephen McPhilemy, Oisin Langan, Patrick Stewart, Daniel Doak.

Glenswilly: Ciaran Molloy, Rory Callaghan, Manus McFadden, Daniel McConnell, Sean Bonner, Michael Canning, Chris Carbury, Gerard McGrenra, Kieran Gallagher, Oisin Crawford, Dermot McGinley, Cormac Callaghan, Colin Farrell, Peadar Toner, Shane Carbury.

Dungloe 0-7

Gaoth Dobhair 1-9

Dungloe led at the break 0-5 to 0-4 but Gaoth Dobhair came through in the second half and a James Sweeney goals secured the win for the visitors.

Dungloe: Ben Boyle, Eimhin Bonner, Jamie Sweeney, Michael Connolly, Paddy Bonner, Mark Boyle, Ryan Rodgers, Donal Rodgers (0-1) Benny McGarvey, Adam Neely (0-1), Paul Ferry (0-3) Ronan Brennan (0-1), Roberty Wehrley, Tomas Brennan (0-1), Damien Hanlon. Subs Joe Sweeney for Adam Neely (inj), Steven Conaghan for Ronan Brennan

Gaoth Dobhair: Charles Doherty, Sean N Gallagher, D McGee, Seamus Reynolds, Paul Mulligan, Micahel McKelvey (0-2 1f), John Hakin, Tiernan O’Dee, Ciaran Gillespie, Sean Boyle, Gavin McBride, Cian Muligan(0-4)), Niall Friel (0-1, James Sweeney (1-0), Manie Gallagher (0-3) subs - Keith Sweeney for Sean N Gallagher, Sean Donegan for Sean Harkin. Sean Doherty for Sean Boyle.

Referee Mickey Mulhern