Robert Emmets take over at the top of Division Four
Robert Emmet

THE surprse of the day came in the All-County League Division Four when leaeders Naomh Colmcille were defeated at home by Naomh Ultan - a result that means Robert Emmets take over at the top of the table.

THE surprse of the day came in the All-County League Division Four when leaeders Naomh Colmcille were defeated at home by Naomh Ultan - a result that means Robert Emmets take over at the top of the table.

Robert Emmets............................1-10

Naomh Ultan..................................1-9

Robert Emmets were run close by a spirited challenge from Naomh Ultan on Friday night in Castlefin thakns to a winning point from Michael Lafferty.

Naomh Ultan took a two-point lead through a Cian Kennedy free and a Dermot Gallier point. Emmetts replied with a free of their own from Christopher Bryson, which was then matched by another Dermot Gallier free.

Aiden Duddy and Cian Kennedy added to this advantage. Robert Emmets got two in quick succession, a free from Bryson and a point from Lafferty.

Free scoring Dermot Gallier added to his tally three minutes from the break but Emmetts got one back through a Lafferty free on the blink of the break, meaning the away side were 0-5 to 0-4 up at the break.

Alan Lyons registered his first point of the evening to extend Naomh Ultan’s lead to two at the start of part two. Bryson once again replied to this with a point but Lyons responded with another point of his own.

Gallier extended the lead to three on 47 minutes but Emmetts began then to rally, with Damien McAnnenny adding a score and Johnny McLaughlin also popping one over.

Substitute Mark Lafferty was then on the mark for goal. But Naomh Ultan didn’t lay down and pushed hard and deservedly hit the back of the net through the in form Lyons with five left.

That leaving scores even either team could of snatched victory but it fell to Lafferty, who struck in the dying seconds.

Robert Emmets: Adam McConnell, Sean Paul Murphy, Dean McBreathy, Damien McAnnenny (0-1), Sean Coyle, Dominic McGlinchey, Marcus Curran, Brian Harvey, Simon McMenamin, Johnny McLaughlin (0-3), Martin McCrossan, Christopher Bryson (0-3), Darren Larkin (0-1), Michael Lafferty (0-2), Kieran Brennan. Subs Used. Paddy Dooher and Mark Lafferty (1-0).

Naomh Ultan: Donal Murrin; Jonathan Cassidy, Paul Gallier, Stepen Cassidy; Joe Alvey, Danny Shovlin, Conor Shovlin; Shane McWhinnie, Declan Murrin; Cian Kennedy (0-2, 1f), Colin McNicholas, Sean Blain; Alan Lyons (1-2), Aiden Duddy (0-1), Dermot Gallier (0-4, 1f).

Naomh Colmcille..........................2-15

Naomh Ultan.................................4-11

Naomh Ultan upset the apple cart with a surprise win in Newtowncunningham against Naomh Colmcille.

Dermot Gallier got the ball rolling for Naomh Ultan after a minute with a point from play but that kicked off a Newton rally, racking up five scores in the opening 10 minutes, which included an unstoppable goal from Ciaran Callaghan on six minutes.

Gallier added a free to reduce the deficit to six points. Newtown cancelled out his point with a point from Mark Dowds but Cian Kennedy struck a free and Aaron Byrne got on the score sheet the cut Newton’s lead slightly.

Gallier and Byrne again pointed to slim down the lead further but Newton again cancelled them out with two quick scores. Captain Aiden Duddy stepped up for the penalty and made no mistake finishing. Adrian Nesbitt then fired the ball in the net to take the teams in at the interval on a scoreline on 2-6 to 1-10 for Naomh Ultan.

Some would say it was deja-vu as Nesbitt, scoring a goal on the whistle of the first half, when he blasted the ball in the net again within the first minute of the half.

Kennedy took his tally to two points but Ryan McErlean blasted an unstoppable strike after a tremendous shrugging run but Naomh Ultan stayed ahead when McNicholas reboundeded a shot into the Newton net.

Naomh Colmcille: Marty Callaghan; Mark Callaghan, Alex Devenney, John Fullerton; Gerard Curran, Shane McAteer, Eddie Gillespie; Ryan McErlean, Andrew Clarke; William Lynch, Mark Dowds, Don Hegarty; Ciaran Callaghan, Thomas McKinley, Willie Gillespie. Subs: Anthony Grant, Paul Friel, Stephen Davenport.

Naomh Ultan: Donal Murrin; Jonathan Cassidy, Paul Gallier, Stephen Cassidy; Joe Alvey (0-1), Declan Murrin, Conor Shovlin; Aiden Duddy (1-0, pen), Sean Blain; Cian Kennedy (0-2, 1f) Colin McNicholas (1-1), Aaron Byrne (0-2); Alan Lyons, Adrian Nesbitt (2-0), Dermot Gallier (0-5, 1f). Subs: Martin Shovlin Snr and Martin Shovlin Jnr.

Na Rossa...........................................2-11


Na Rossa full forward John Paul Breslin produced a man of the match performance as he scored 2-4 win his side’s win over Moville.

In a tight match both teams struggled to get a grip on the game but it was Na Rossa who led at the break 1-5 to 4 points thanks to an early goal from JP Breslin after a mistake in the Moville back line. Odhran Gallagher (2),PJ Hanlon and Patrick Melly were the other Na Rossa scorers of the half. Michael Doherty and Ryan Killen were on the scoresheet for the visitors with two points each.

The second half produced more goals as Breslin got his second of the match with Shane Canning rattling the net for Moville shortly after. The two sides traded points again with Na Rossa in command of the match until Moville were awarded a penalty which was well finished to the net by Oran McDermott. This left a point between the sides again but the home team were not to be out done with further points from Conor Melly, Pat Melly and JP Breslin to secure a three-point victory. Moville finished the scoring with a consalation point through McDermott.

Na Rossa: James Bonner; Jamie McCready, Daniel Melly, Dennis O’Donnell; Daryl Devenney (0-1),Shane McGeehan, Shane McCready; Eugene Molloy, Odhran Gallagher (0-2); Conor Melly (0-1), PJ Hanlon(0-1), Patrick Melly (0-2); Michael McMonagle, JP Breslin(2-4), Eamon Melly,

Moville: Shane Bouvard; Jack Keys, Enda Faulkner, Noel O’Brien; Niall Cavanagh, Eunan Hegarty, Ryan Killen; Seamus Hegarty, Michael Doherty; William Wilson, Shane Canning, Georaid McQuillan; Emmet McLaughlin, Oran McDermott, Jason Reynolds.