Naomh Colmcille and Robert Emmet’s top Division Four

NAOMH COLMCILLE remain unbeaten in the Marley Coach Hire Division Four when they posted their ninth win from 10 games thanks to a 4-11 to 1-6 victory over Na Rossa.

NAOMH COLMCILLE remain unbeaten in the Marley Coach Hire Division Four when they posted their ninth win from 10 games thanks to a 4-11 to 1-6 victory over Na Rossa.

Na Rossa 1-6

Naomh Colmcille 4-11

After a torrential downpour just before throw in there was a lot of surface water on the pitch, which made conditions tricky for both sides. Na Rossa adapted better in the first ten minutes and capitalised on some sloppy handling by Naomh Colmcille to score a point through Eugene Molloy and a goal from Michael McMonagle in the first five minutes.

Naomh Colmcille edged their way back into the game when they started to play the ball earlier into the forward line and won three frees in quick succession, two of which were converted by Mark Dowds and the third by Ciaran Callaghan.

Willie Gillespie found the net after being played in by Thomas McKinley and McKinley registered a goal himself a minute later when he intercepted a Na Rossa pass and coolly slotted the ball past the goalkeeper. McKinley and Gillespie were working well together up front, and when McKinley hit the bar with an effort Gillespie pounced on the rebound and split the post from a tight angle. So after weathering the early storm Naomh Colmcille went in at half time leading by 2-4 to 1-2 with PJ Hanlon the other Na Rossa point scorer.

The teams exchanged scores in the opening period of the second half, with Ciaran Callaghan and Willie Gillespie splitting the posts for Naomh Colmcille, JP McCready for the away team. Gillespie added a further two goals and three points and Mark Dowds added two more points. And although Na Rossa registered the last point in the final moments of the game through Patrick Melly.

Naomh Colmcille: Marty Callaghan, Mark Callaghan, Alex Devenney, John Fullerton, Gerard Curran, Shane McAteer, Eddie Gillespie, Ryan McErlean, Andrew Clarke, William Lynch, Mark Dowds (0-4), Joe Donaghey, Ciaran Callaghan (0-2), Thomas McKinley (1-0), Willie Gillespie (3-5). Subs: Anthony Grant, Aidan Friel, Pauric Carberry, Conor Grant

Na Rossa: James Bonner, Jamie McCready, Denis Odonnell, Shane Melly, Shane McCready,Cormac Mchugh, Shane McGeehan, Daniel Melly, Eugene Molloy (0-1), PJ Hanlon (0-1),Patrick Melly (0-1), Daryl Devenney,JP McCready (0-3), JP Breslin, Michael McMonagle(1-0).

Robert Emmets 1-10

Moville 1-8

Dessie McFeely’s Robert Emmets remain joint top of Division Four after their two-point win over Moville on Saturday.

Kieran Brennan scored the all-important goal for the Castlefin-based side, while Johnny McLaughlin and Christopher Bryson were all on their game for the home team.

Robert Emmets: Adam McConnell, Marcus Curran, Dean Mc Breathy, Damien McAnneny, Paul Mc Cauley, Dominic Mc Glinchey, Sean Coyle, Simon McMenamin, Brian Harvey, Johnny Mc Laughlin (0-4), Marty Mc Crossan, Christopher Bryson (0-3), Darren Larkin (0-1), Kieran Brennan (1-1), John Hunter. Subs: Michael Lafferty (0-1) for John Hunter, Aaron Mc Daid for Darren Larkin

Naomh Padraig, Lifford 1-10

Milford 0-10

A late goal from Mark Carlin was enough for Naomh Padraig from Lifford to grab the points in the close enocuounter against Milford.

The game was essentially a tit-for-tat encounter with never too much between the sides. Lifford were best served by familiar faces - Kevin Meehan, Gary McGirr and Lorny Crossan but they had Friel to thank for the all-important late winning goal.

Lifford: Shaun McBrearty, Mickey McBrearty, Darren Gillespie, Johnny Mahon, Jack Quinn, Patrick McNamee, Mark McNulty, Seamie Breslin, Connor Caterson, Lorny Crossan (0-2), Gary McGirr (0-3), Paul Lynch (0-1), Shane Meehan (0-3), Emmet Caterson, Mark Carlin (1-1). Subs used Daniel Carlin.

Milford: Caolan McGettigan; TJ Evesson, Barry McNulty, Cormac Friel; Tony McGettigan, Paddy Peoples, Padraig Curley; Dermot Friel, Lorcan Friel; Paul Sweeney, Christopher Barrett, Luke Barrett; Cathal McGettigan, Kevin McGee, David Curley. Sub: Christy McCafferty.

St Mary’s, Convoy 1-11

Letterkenny Gaels 3-7

Letterkenny Gaels made it home from their short journey to St Mary’s in Convoy with the points.

There was little to choose between the sides in the first half. Laurence McMullan scored an early goal for the hosts but that was soon cancelled out by strokes from Colm O’Breslin and James McGlynn to leave it 1-7 to 2-4 at the interval.

Anthony Browne was the most effective of the home forward, scoring five points in all but the secisive score in the second half and one that confirmed the away win was the goal scored for Gaels by Aaron Bradley.

St Mary’s, Convoy: Conor Cairns; Conor Donnellan, Oisin Porter, Gary Harvey; Sean Browne, Sean Allen, Emmet McNulty; Raymond McNamee (0-1), Shane McLaughlin (0-2); Dean Bonner, Laurence McMullan (1-0), Anthony Browne (0-5); Ryan Kettle (0-3), John Kee, Brendan Bonner.

Letterkenny Gaels: Ethan Mulrennan; Eoghan Kelly, Tommy Daly, Oisin Cannon (0-1); Ciaran Lynch, Ciaran Cannon (0-1), Darren Hunter; Gerard Gibbons (0-1), Aaron Bradley (1-0); Micky McGarrigale, James McGlynn (1-0), John Doran; Niall McManus, Colm O’Breslin (1-1), Conor McBrearty.