Erne Wanderers take Colin Breslin Youth Cup

Erne Wanderers proved too strong for Cappry Rovers winning by three goals to nil in the Colin Breslin Cup final on Saturday afternoon.

Erne Wanderers proved too strong for Cappry Rovers winning by three goals to nil in the Colin Breslin Cup final on Saturday afternoon.

Erne Wanderers 3

Cappry Rovers 0

The Ballyshannon based side started the game well and controlled the midfield exchanges with Michael McNealy, Matthew Ward and Jamie Brennan standing out. When Cappry did threaten they found the composed Calum Galagher in excellent form and he held the defence firm.

Rovers to their credit never stopped trying but their sharp shooters Aaron Kelly and Kyle Lafferty never got going as a partnership. Eosin Gallen in the Cappry goals had an outstanding game and could not be faulted with the shots that did beat him.

The game started at a cracking pace and in the 11th minute the Erne captain Allan Russell cracked a thirty five yard free kick off the Cappry crossbar. Erne keeping the pressure on, had another opportunity with Jamie Brennan sliding the ball past the Cappry right hand upright. In the 20th minute Cappry’s Eunan Doherty had a snap shot over the crossbar.

Erne opened the scoring in the 26th minute following a minx up in the Cappry defence and “Man of the Match” Michael McNeely shot to the net from close range. They increased their lead in the 41st minute where a perfectly flighted free kick from Alan Russell was headed powerfully to the back of the Cappry net by Callum Gallagher giving his side a 2-0 interval lead.

Erne started the second half in the same manner they finished the opening half and in the 50th minute Matthew Wars scores the perfect goal with a delicate chip to the net. In the 85th minute Eoin Gallen made a fantastic save but the in rushing Jamie Brennan shot over the Cappry crossbar from two yards out. Erne had the final opportunity but after a great right wing run fro Michael McNeely resulted in him failing to hit the target.

Nicole and Cormac Breslin presented the cup to the winning captain Allan Russell amid great scenes of celebrations as this was their first Youth League success in the Donegal League.

Erne Wanderers: Daniel Kelly, Liam Ryan, Colm McGurran, Donal O’Keeffee, Calum Gallagher, Michael McNeely, Dylan O’Reilly, Allan Russell, Diarmaid Spratt, Jamie Brennan, Matthew Ward. Subs, Eamon McGrath, Deane McLaughlin, James Morris, Kevin Sweeney, Jason Coyne (all used).

Cappry Rovers: Eoin Gallen, Stephen Summerville, Padraig Glackin, Jasson Marley, Conor. Cairns, Conor McGlynn, Darragh Redmond, Eunan Doherty, Kyle Lafferty, Aaron Kelly, Stephen Milligan. Subs- Marty Gallagher, David McLaughlin, Declan Malley(all used).

Referee: R .Floyd. Assistants M Slator and T Catterson

John ‘Gorey’ Curran final this Saturday

Fanad United and Letterkenny Rovers will contest the John (Gorey) Curran Cup final at the Diamond Park Ballyarr this Saturday. Fanad will start as favourites after a tough couple of matches to reach the final.

They defeated Rosses Academy by a three goal margin in the quarter final and overcame strong Erne Wanderers side 4-2 in the semi final. Their opponents Letterkenny Rovers had an easier run to the final where they defeated Drumbar United three goals to nil in their quarter final tie and defeated Cappry Rovers 3-0 in the semi final. When these sides met in the League, Rovers had the upper hand whilst drawing two goals each at home and winning by a solitary goal in Triagh-a-locha.

Michael Herrity’s young charges will be doing their upmost to reverse these results and will provide stiff opposition to Anthony Gormans side. A great game in prospect with the odds slightly in favour of the Kingdom men.


Colin Breslin Cup Final

Erne Wanderers 3-0 Cappry Rovers

Ulster FA Youth Cup Semi Final

Cockhill Celtic 1-1 Letterkenny Rovers

(Cockhill won 7-6 on Pens)

Fanad United 2-1 Ross’s Academy


Saturday 31st March Ballyarr Ko 2pm

John “Gorey” Curran Cup Final,

Letterkenny Rovers v Fanad United