All County GAA League round-up

Ardara moved to the top of the Donegal GAA All County League Division One after adding two more points in a close game at home to Gaoth Dobhair at Pearse Park on Monday.

Ardara moved to the top of the Donegal GAA All County League Division One after adding two more points in a close game at home to Gaoth Dobhair at Pearse Park on Monday.

Four Masters got their first points in their first first game when they travelled to Rosses Park and defeated Dungloe while Kilcar also registered their first points at home to St. Michael’s

Dungloe 0-12

Four Masters 0-15

Michael Doherty scored nine points as Four Masters claimed the points in this Division One clash in Rosses Park.

The former county man was in inspired form both from play and frees while Luke Keaney scored three points in what was an accomplished performance for the Masters in their opening game of the league.

Four Masters led by four points at half-time, 0-10 to 0-6 and Joe Lacey’s men were the much better side in the opening 30 minutes.

Dungloe, through Adrian Hanlon, who top scored for Dungloe with six points, did twice reduce the margin to two in the second half and were still in the tie until Doherty sealed the win with two late strikes.

Four Masters scorers: Michael Dohetry 0-9, Luke Keaney 0-3, Conor McMonagle, Sean O’Kennedy, Stephen Keeney 0-1 each.

Dungloe: Adrian Hanlon 0-6, Brendan McGarvey 0-3, Nial Keenan, Shaun Sharkey, Mark Forker 0-1 each.

Referee: Seamus McGonagle (Aodh Ruadh)

Kilcar 1-10

St. Michael’s 0-8

The worrying news from Kilcar was that county panellists Daniel McLaughlin was carried off with an injury in the second half as Kilcar got their first points of the campaign.

Kilcar led by 0-6 to 0-3 at the break after playing with the strong wind in Towney. The points came from Ryan McHugh (2), Michael Hegarty, Ciaran McManus and Pauric Sweeney, with Stephen Coyle, Raymond McLaughlin (free) and Brian McLaughlin pointing for St. Michael’s, who were without Colm McFadden and Christy Toye.

The game was settled early in the second half when Kilcar added another point and Conor McManus volleyed home the only goal of the game after a Patrick McBrearty effort was well saved.

Scorers in the second half were Patrick McBrearty 0-3, two frees; Ciaran McManus 1-0 and Mark McHugh 0-1.

For St. Michael’s: Michael McGinley 0-2, 245s; Raymond McLaughlin and Stephen Coyle 0-1 each, both frees, and Peter Witherow 0-1.

Ardara 1-10

Gaoth Dobhair 0-9

Ardara racked up another two league points to go to the top of the table with a good display against Gaoth Dobhair. However, the issue was in doubt until the final minutes when Gareth Concarr found the Gaoth Dobhair net.

Ardara led 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time but Gaoth Dobhair tied up the game early in the secon dhalf and it was level again at 0-8 each with eight minutes of normal time left.

Then points from Stephen Boyle and Concarr were followed by the Concarr goal.

One of the talking points of the game was the presence of James Gallagher for Gaoth Dobhair, who had a red card picked up against Dungloe rescinded. The visitors were without Neil and Eamon McGee (injury and suspension) while Kevin Cassidy made his first appearance, while Paddy McGrath sat out the game for the home side with a leg injury.

Ardara: Declan Gallagher; Oisin O’Donnell, Kenneth Doherty, Kevin Byrne; Declan Gavigan, Kevin Breslin, Nicholas Breslin (0-1); Stephen Boyle (0-1), Jimmy O’Connell; Michael Maloney, Peter McHugh (0-1), Kieran Breslin (0-2); Brendan McNelis, Conor Classon, Gareth Concarr (1-5,4f). Subs., Nicholas Maguire for J O’Connell, Peter O McNelis for McHugh.

Gaoth Dobhair: Christopher Sweeney; Anthony Blair, Manus Weed, Ciaran Ferry; Paul Mulligan, Christopher Roarty (0-1), Michael Roarty; Peter McGee, Kevin Cassidy; Padraig McGarvey, James Gallagher (0-1), Manny Gallagher; Cathal Mulligan (0-1,f), Owen Ward (0-5,3f), Danny Curran (0-1). Subs., Michael McKelvey for M Gallagher; Joe Blair for C Roarty.

Division Two

Fanad Gaels 0-10

Cloughaneely 1-11

Cloughaneely got their season up and running with an away win against Fanad Gaels in Portsalon.

Ciaran McFadden scored the decisive goal in the second half as Cloughaneely finally pulled away from a determined Fanad.

Denis Boyle scored six points for Cloughaneely with Seamie Friel (Nanny) top scorer for Fanad with four points.

Fanad Gaels scorers: Seamie Friel (Nanny) 0-4; Aidan McAteer 0-2; Seamie Friel 0-2; Paddy Shields, Brendan Callaghan 0-1 each.

Cloughaneely: Denis Boyle 0-6; Ciaran McFadden 1-1; Shaun McGarvey 0-3, Shaun Maguire, Darren McGeever 0-1 each.

Referee: Paddy McGonagle (Buncrana).

Naomh Mhuire 0-6

Glenfin 1-11

Kevin McGlynn scored 1-4 and Ciaran Moy posted 0-4 as Glenfin cruised to a comfortable victory over Naomh Mhuire at the Banks.

The sides were level 0-5 at half-time but with Kevin McGlynn and Moy stepping it up it was all Glenfin in the second period.

Naomh Mhuire scorers: Ciaran McGinley 0-3;Owen Grant 0-2; Harry Harden 0-1.

Glenfin: Kevin McGlynn 1-4; Ciaran Moy 0-4; Leigh Herron 0-2; Micheal McGlynn 0-1

Referee: Don Langan (St. Michael’s)

Bundoran 0-5

Naomh Brid 0-9

David Walsh led the charge as Naomh Brid, took the points in this south county clash in Gaelic Park, Bundoran.

Naomh Brid led 0-3 to 0-2 at half-time before pushing on in the second half to run out comfortable and deserving four point winners.

Naomh Brid scorers: David Walsh 0-4: Pauric McDaid 0-2; Paul McGrory, Darragh Brigan, Calum Gallagher 0-1 each.

Bundoran: Tommy Hourihane 0-4; Michael McEniff 0-1.

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs)

Division Three

Naomh Columba 0-8

Burt 0-7

Naomh Columba got their first brace of points of the campaign in a very close encounter with Burt in Pairc na nGael yesterday.

The home side led 0-6 to 0-2 at the break but had to withstand a Burt revival in the second half that was not helped by two sendings off, one a straight red, but the home side just held on.

Naomh Columba scorers: O McGinley 0-3,1f; R McNern 0-2; M Maguire 0-1; C Butler 0-1, McCunningham 0-1f;

Burt scorers: Conor Harkin 0-2; Mickey McHugh 0-3, Joe Boyle 0-2

Naomh Columba: P O’Donnell; K Beag Cunningham; K Cunningham, B Carr; J McNern, M Maguire, K McBrearty; Declan McGuire, Dermot McGuire; M Cunningham, R McNern, A O’Gara; C Butler, O McGinley, N McGinley. Subs., S Jones for Butler; C Doherty for R McNern.

Burt: K McDermott; B Harrigan, J Downey, K Glennon; S O’Donnell, P McDermott, M McKenna; C Dowds, J Boyle; S McDaid, M McHugh, C Harkin; C McDermott, S McDermott, S McDaid.