Naomh Colmcille hammer Milford in Division Four

LETTERKENNY GAELS posted a good away win against Naomh Ultan on Saturday evening in the All-County League Division Four while there were wins for Robert Emmets, St Mary’s and, most impressively, Naomh Colmcille.

LETTERKENNY GAELS posted a good away win against Naomh Ultan on Saturday evening in the All-County League Division Four while there were wins for Robert Emmets, St Mary’s and, most impressively, Naomh Colmcille.

Naomh Ultan 1-10

Letterkenny Gaels 3-9

Letterkenny Gaels recorded a well deserved away victory in Dunkineely on Saturday evening with Conor McBrearty scoring a goal and six points.

Both teams were evenly matched in the first half with Gaels’ scores coming from a Micky Harte goal, a point from Charlie Creevy and Conor McBrearty’s treble.

Naomh Ultan’s scores came from a Cian Kennedy brace, points from Sean Furey and Martin Shovlin Jr, while Pauric McIntyre got the goal to leave it 1-4 apiece at the break.

Naomh Ultan went four points up in the second half through Dermot Gallier, Aaron Byrne and Alan Lyons. Gaels responded with a McBrearty point and a goal from Gerard Gibbons. Naomh Ultan hit further scores from Declan Murrin and Dermot Gallier. The visitors finished strongly with a goal and two points from man of the match McBrearty and points from Niall McManus and Micky Harte.

Naomh Ultan: Daniel McGlynn; Paul Gallier, Donal Murrin, Aiden Fisher; Pauric McIntyre (1-0), Danny Shovlin, Jonathan Cassidy; Martin Shovlin Jr (0-1), Declan Murrin; Cian Kennedy (0-1), Dermot Gallier (0-3), Damien Quigley (0-1); Alan Lyons (0-1), Sean Furey (0-1), Aaron Byrne (0-2). Subs: Emmet Kennedy for Murrin, Stephen Cassidy for Fisher

Letterkenny Gaels: Ethan Mulrennan; Eoin Kelly, Tommy Daly, Aaron Stewart; Mickey Harte (1-1), Kevin Kilkenny, Darren Hunter; Paddy Doherty, Nicky McGarrigle; Oisín Cannon, Colm O’Breslin, Ciaran Cannon; Colm O’Breslin, Niall McManus (0-1), Charlie Creevy (0-1), Conor McBrearty (1-6) Subs: Gerard Gibbons (1-0), Ciaran Lynch, James McGlynn, Cillian Skinnader and Barry Boyle

Referee: Michael McShane (Kilcar).

St Mary’s, Convoy 2-11

Moville 1-7

St Mary’s Convoy enjoyed a seven-point win over Moville at Pairc Naomh Mhuire on Saturday evening - with Anthony Browne leading the way with 2-3.

Browne set the home team off on the right foot with two first half goals to establish a 2-5 to 0-3 interval lead. Oran McDermott got a second half goal to reignite the visitors’ hopes but it was the home support who went the happier.

Convoy: C Cairns; S Allan, O Porter (0-1), S Browne; J Doherty, P Mailey (0-1), E Patterson; R McNamee, T McHugh; C McNulty (0-1), L McMullan (0-1), A Browne (2-3); R Kettle (0-3), J Kee, P Blake (0-1).

Moville: M McGeady; D Diver, E Hegarty, R Kavanagh; J Keys, S Hegarty, S Diver; M McDermott (0-1), J Faulkener (0-2); C Moore (0-1), J McBride (0-1), J Henry (0-1); O McDermott (1-1), J McGeady, R McDermott.

Robert Emmets 0-12

Na Rossa 1-8

Robert Emmets continued their unbeaten start to the season but were made sweat on Saturday evening at home to Na Rossa.

Points from the likes of Johnny McLaughlin, Sean Coyle and Michael Lafferty gave the hosts a good start but the visitors were in with a shout throughout, especially so after a goal from Ryan Hennessy. However, after two draws, the Castlefin based outfit managed to get over the line.

Robert Emmets: Adam McConnell; Brian Dooher (0-1), Dean McBrearty, Damian McAnnenny; Paddy Dooher (0-1), Conor McConnell, Sean Coyle (0-2); Brian Harvey (0-1), Dominic McGlinchey; Johnny McLaughlin (0-4), Michael Lafferty (0-2), Christopher Bryson (0-1); Andrew McMenamin, Niall McConnell, Marcus Curran (0-1). Sub: John Hunter.

Na Rossa: James Bonner, Jamie McCready, Daniel Martin Melly, Shane McCready, Daryl Devenney, Cormac McHugh, Brian Breslin, Eugene Molloy, John Paul Breslin, Ryan Hennessy (1-1), Odhran Gallagher, John Paul McCready (0-3), Patrick Melly (0-3), Tommy Brennan (0-1), Trevor


Referee: Sean McLaughlin (Malin).

Naomh Colmcille 3-14

Milford 0-7

Naomh Colmcille and Milford fell through the trapdoor from Division Three last season but there was no doubt who took to their new surroundings the better in Newtowncunningham on Saturday evening.

Donegal county panellist Thomas McKinley scored a brace of goals and he was joined at the upper end of the score sheet by William Gillespie, who bagged 1-6. Leading 1-8 to 0-2 at the interval, the home side continued to push from the front foot and the only blotch on the copybook in their 16-point win was the concession of a handful of points.

Naomh Colmcille: Marty Callaghan; Paul Friel, Anthony Grant, Eddie Gillespie; Gerard Curran, Alex Devenney, Mark Callaghan; Ryan McKinley, Ryan McErlean (0-1); Liam Grant (0-1), Andrew Clarke (0-1), Joe Donaghy (0-2); Mark Dowds (0-2, 1f), Thomas McKinley (2-1), Willie

Gillespie (1-6, 2f). Subs: William Lynch for Clarke; Stephen Davenport (0-1) for Dowds; Don Hegarty for W Gillespie; Shane McAteer for R McKinley; Pauric Carberry for A Grant.

Milford: Sean Gallagher; Mark Farren, Barry McNulty, Cormac Friel; Dean Burgess, Enda McHugh, TJ Everson; Luke Barrett (0-1), Dermot Friel; Ciaran McHugh, Christopher Barrett (0-2, 1f), Manus Boyce (0-1); David Curley (0-1), Kevin McGee (0-1), Pauric Curley (0-1, 1f).

Referee: Kevin Doherty (Letterkenny Gaels).