Five new faces at top GAA table

Peter Campbell


Peter Campbell

There are five new faces on the Donegal GAA Executive after a lengthy County Convention held in Jackson’s Hotel, Ballybofey, on Wednesday night.

There are five new faces on the Donegal GAA Executive after a lengthy County Convention held in Jackson’s Hotel, Ballybofey, on Wednesday night.

The new members of the Executive are Sean McGinley (Kilcar), Frankie Doherty (St. Eunan’s), Con O’Donnell (Moville), Anthony Harkin (Ardara) and Pat Conaghan (Killybegs). They will take up the positions of assistant secretary, assistant treasurer, Oifigeach na Gaeililge agus Cultuir, Coaching Officer and Ulster Council delegate respectively.

The Convention was a drawn out affair, lasting almost five hours with delegates worn out by the end of the night.

There was more debate than usual, especially on the secretary and treasurer’s reports, while other debate on fixtures, hurling and schools matters were curtailed by the chairman, who felt that Convention was not the forum for the particular issues.

The secretary’s report came in for much debate, especially in relation to his criticism of club delegates, with a number of clubs feeling that Executive members escaped censure, even though Ardara and Glenfin representatives felt that the top table were far from perfect in 2011.

The outgoing treasurer, Jim McGlynn, will continue in the post, but only in an acting position. Because there was no contest for the post, the Letterkenny Gaels man said that he was willing to stay on, but only in an acting capacity until the post was filled. Speaking at the election of officers, he said he had to give consideration to his club, family.

Obviously referring to recent events involving his club and the boundary issue with St. Eunan’s, he said: “While I would be disappointed with recent developments involving myh club, I want to state that this has no impact on my decision. I will allow my nomination to stand in an acting capacity until nominations are sought. I will help out with anyone willing to take on the role,” said McGlynn.

There were plenty of annoyance by delegates over the handling of fixtures over the year and the Setanta delegates were not in agreement with the secretary’s report that it was a successful year for hurling.

In the election of officers outgoing chairman P J McGowan; secretary Aodh Mairtin O’Fearraigh; treasurer Jim McGlynn; and Development Officer Michael McMenamin were returned unopposed.

Sean McGinley and Con O’Donnell were elected unopposed as assistant secretary and Oifigeach Gaeilge agus Cultuir, while Charlie Cannon defeated Mick McGrath (92-78) for vice-chairman. Frankie Doherty defeated Brendan Kelly and Peter Maloney for asst. treasurer; Maire Graham defeated Ed Byrne for PRO; Niall Erskine defeated Grace Boyle for Central Council and Edward Molloy and Pat Connaghan were successful in a crowded Ulster Council delegate field which included Terry O’Reilly, Alan Boye and Danny McNamee.

Officers elected for 2012 were

Chairman: P J McGowan

Vice-Chairman: Charlie Cannon

Secretary: Aodh Mairtin O Fearraigh

Asst. Secretary: Sean McGinley

Treasurer (acting): Jim McGlynn

Asst. Treasurer: Frankie Doherty

PRO: Maire Graham

Development Officer: Michael McMenamin

Oifigeach Gaeilge agus Cultuir: Con O’Donnell

Coaching Officer: Anthony Harkin

Central Council delegate: Niall Erskine

Ulster Council delegates: Edward Molloy and Pat Conaghan.