Donegal Badminton hold their annual dinner dance

Donegal Badminton hold their annual dinner dance
The Annual Dinner Dance and Presentation of League Trophies was held in the excellent venue of Kee`s Hotel, Stranorlar.

The Annual Dinner Dance and Presentation of League Trophies was held in the excellent venue of Kee`s Hotel, Stranorlar.

Donegal Branch chairman, David Duncan, gave a very warm welcome to all the attendants, over 130, well up on last year, with most clubs attending and many clubs very well represented.

After an excellent meal, with fast, efficient and very friendly service, David Duncan thanked all the Donegal Council members and in particular the league secretaries, Ladies and Mixed Liffey McKinney, Mens John Love, who were very busy in recent weeks getting the leagues concluded before the dinner dance. David noted with thanks the help and support of Deputy Chairman Robert Smyth, Treasurer Arthur Corscadden and secretary William Love. David thanked Glen Duncan, for his work, setting up the webb for Co. Donegal Badminton Branch and Glen`s continued time working with it.

David went on to thank the League`s main sponsors Fleming Steel and Michael Murphy Sports and Leasure, Letterkenny, Northern Garage Auto Parts, Donegal Town and all the clubs for all their support over the season before inviting Mrs. Lynda Macbeth, on behalf of Fleming Steel to make the presentations. A vote of thanks was passed with applause for the management and staff of Kee`s Hotel for their eccelent services.

This season the Donegal Badminton Branch introduced a Co. Donegal Senior Mixed League, played in the Aura, Letterkenny, and the Mens Div. 1. League played in the C. P. I. Centre, Castlefin, both leagues played over the season, proved very popular and very successful providing excellent competition for the Donegal senior men, junior ladies and men and strong minor a. players.

Competition in the various leagues in Co. Donegal this season proved very competitive, with many league finals won or lost by a few aces. Raphoe successfully defended their Ladies Div. 1. Title while Dunfanaghy won Div. 2 Mens title by a whisker. 1 ace ahead of Raphoe B. R-up and Dunfanaghy also won Mens Div. 5 title for the 1st. time.

3 Rivers club,playing out of the C.A.K.E. Centre, Killygordon, celebrated their 10th. anniversary in style, on the court where it matters, 3 Rivers teams dominating league competition this season winning Ladies Div. 2 League, r-up in Div. 1. Ladies, won Mens Div. 3 and 4 leagues, won Mixed Leagues Div. 1. Div. 2, Div. 3 and r-up in Div. 3 and also won Vi Kearon Memorial Div. 1 Junior Cup and Aodh McElhinney Memorial Div. 1 Minor Cup. 3 Rivers players also won 6 out of the 9 player of the year awards.



Minor C. Grade Nominations: Deborah Colhoun, Vanessa McHugh (3 Rivers0, Sarah Nairn (Conwall) and Louise Stewart (Dunfanaghy). Winner Vanessa McHugh (3 Rivers).

Minor B. Grade Nominations Emma Gallagher, Shannon Russell (3 Rivers), Chloe Lowry and Kim Laird (Raphoe). Winner Emma Gallagher (3 Rivers).

Minor A. Grade Nominations Megan Colhoun and Laura Russell (3 Rivers), Hazel Fisher (Lennon), Carol McElhinney (Dunfanaghy). Winner Hazel Fisher ( Lennon).

Junior Grade Nominations Kathy Ann Gibson, Rachael McNulty (3 Rivers), Deborah Moore (Dunfanaghy), Aimee Moore (Hillhead) and Siobhan Parker (Lennon). Winner Kathy Ann Gibson (3 Rivers).

2014/15 Over all female player of the year Kathy Ann Gibson. (3 Rivers).


Minor C. Grade Nominations Dylon Alcorn, Peter Hughes (Dunfanaghy), John Ritchie (Ballintra) and Aaron Wiley (3 Rivers). Winner Aaron Wiley ( 3 Rivers).

Minor B. Grade Nominations Aaron Knox, Jack Macbeth, Jason Patterson (3 Rivers), Ben Wallace (Raphoe) and Mark Watters (St.Johnston). Winner Jason Patterson (3 Rivers).

Minor A. Grade Nominations George Chapman, Ivan Wilson (Greenbank), Anthony Donaghy (Hillhead), Wesley Knox (3 Rivers) and Russell Love (Conwall). Winner Wesley Knox (3 Rivers).

Junior Grade Nominations Glen Duncan (Donoughmore), Jeffrey Magee, Kyle Magee (Raphoe), Mark McLucas (Burt) and Simon Moore (Dunfanaghy). Winner Simon Moore (Dunfanaghy).

Senior Grade Nominations Ryan Macbeth, David Macbeth, Alan Macbeth, Ian Macbeth (Ballindrait) and David Magee (Raphoe). Winner Ian Macbeth (Ballindrait).

2014/15 Overall Male Player of the year Simon Moore (Dunfanaghy).


Fleming Steel Mens League results

Div. 1: Winners Liverpool Legends 14 Pts. Team captain David Magee, Glen Duncan, Mark McLucas and Wesley Knox.

Div. 2: Winners: Dunfanaghy Team captain Simon Moore, Christopher Kemps, Paul Wilkinson and Joe Alcorn.

Runners-up, Raphoe B.: Team captain Jeffrey Magee, Kyle Magee, Mervyn Magee and Aaron Magee.

Div. 3: Winners 3 Rivers: Team captain Christopher Kemps, Wesley Knox, Richard Smith and Jason Patterson.

Runners-up: Burt: Mark McLucas, Ross Thompson, Ryan McClintock and Mark Watters.

Div. 4: Winners 3 Rivers. Team captain Aaron Knox, Jack Macbeth, Jason Patterson and Andrew Knox.

Runners-up Greenbank Team captain Kyle Wilson, Andrew Wilson, Cameron Wilson and Ronan Hoy.

Div. 4: Winners Dunfanaghy 39 Pts. Team captain =Peter Hughes, Billy Griffin, Dylan Alcorn, Lee McKinley, Drew Murray and Philip Moore.

Runners-up Greenbank 28 Pts. Team captain Richard Steel, Callum Falls, Alan Clark and Mark Ruddy.

Senior Mixed League: Winners Bad Guys13 Pts. Team captain David Macbeth, Graham Harron, Elaine Chambers, Heather Harron. (Subs Deborah Moore and Ashling Arnold.)

Runners-up: One Hit Wonders 13 Pts. Team captain Simon Moore, Glen Duncan, Kathy Ann Gibson and Siobhan Parker.

Mixed Div. 1 League: Winners 3 Rivers 45 Pts. Team captain Wesley Knox, Russell Love,Christopher Kemps, Kathy Ann Gibson, Rachael McNulty, Laura Russell, Wendy Mason, Shannon Russell and Emma Gallagher.

Runners-up Dunfanaghy 37 Pts. Team captain Mark Alcorn, Simon Moore, Paul Wilkensin, Sam McElhinney, David Moore, Deborah Moore, Ashling Arnold and Carol McElhinney.

Mixed Div. 2 League: Winners 3 Rivers 19 Pts. Team captain Nigel Patterson, Jason Patterson, Andrew Knox, Shannon Russell and Emma Gallagher.

Runners-up Lennon 19 Pts.

Mixed Div. 3 League: Winners 3 Rivers A. 19 Pts. Team captain Andrew Knox, Jason Patterson Aaron Wiley, Vanessa McHugh and Deborah Moore.

Runners-up 3 Rivers B. 14 Pts. Team captain Rhonda Russell, Linda Paterson, Aaron Knox and Kristin Warke

U-17 Mixed League: Winners 3 Rivers A. 21 Pts. Team captain Aaron Knox, Jack Macbeth, Shannon Russell and Emma Gallagher.

Runners-up Raphoe A. 20 Pts. Leah Magee, Emma Dunne, Leah Darragh, Aaron Magee and Ben Wallace.

John Quinn Cup for most improved Minor in Raphoe Tournament: Kim Laird, Raphoe.